We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch, great service”
Review of Cook

Cook
Reserve with OpenTable
Cook is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 51 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, great service”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a late lunch after wine tasting and touring. The food was excellent, especially my risotto with scallops. Others in my party really enjoyed their pasta dishes. We even loved the iced tea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jlegendre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    97
    26
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great meal”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a small restaurant that attracts many locals, and for good reason. The quality of the food is outstanding and the service is excellent. The house made pasta is not to be missed. We started with delicious salads and both had pasta dishes. I ate every bite which I don't usually do but it was too good to leave behind. The wine list was also very nice and the service was attentive but unhurried. A very friendly place that does get noisy. If you are a party of two I would recommend one of the tables toward the front of the restaurant. I have also had lunch here and it was excellent, too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nwtraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Late Night Dinner after Winning hockey game of the Kings.....”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

It was a present surprise to find such a excellent restaurant open at 10:00pm in St Helena after the Big game. Cooks had excellent service and food....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Honest local food of high quality”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were recommended by a local from another restaurant and he was right. Fast service, excellent produce perfectly cooked and very reasonably priced. Not in the mould of all the touristy restaurants nearby but much much better than "a good meal". We would have missed out on a great evening if we had not dined here. I wish I had a neighbourhood restaurant like this - I would be there every week.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank qualitypreferred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food being squeezed out of a tight space”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great food. Diverse menu and wine selection at a very appropriate price point. Small space that will get loud. A good loud though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing