We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food being squeezed out of a tight space” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cook

Cook
Ranked #12 of 49 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food being squeezed out of a tight space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great food. Diverse menu and wine selection at a very appropriate price point. Small space that will get loud. A good loud though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    93
    26
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Mediterranean Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Excellent menu, presentation and service. Called in for lunch and was presently surprised. Accompanied a glass of wine and followed with dessert, choc cake with vanilla gelato. Another recommended restaurant in St Helena

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent, casual meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The food and service were great. The friendly staff explained the specials, each sounding better than the last, and helped us order a fantastic variety of dishes. The corkage-friendly policy was much appreciated, as we shared a couple of fantastic bottles purchased at Acme. While completely full, the service was attentive, and we were never rushed. A great find for an awesome meal in an unpretentious setting!

Helpful?
Thank DJSinHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved the Atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

A charming little place on St. Helena's main drag. We found the portions tasty but very small considering the prices. Our server could have been better trained and more attentive. Had more fun watching the eclectic group of customers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
171 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A nice blend of Napa and Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Visited Cook restaurant on Main Street, St. Helena this week (5/20/2015) for my first time. Always passed by it but wanted to try it out and I wasn't disappointed. I checkout on the menu online and was excited to see a Sauvignon Blanc from Elizabeth Spencer winery. Unfortunately, their online list was outdated but they did have a very good SB by the glass from the Gamble winery which perfectly matched my two meal choices. Smooth and refined Sauvignon Blanc, not grapefruit smashed in your face. Think of Sancerre with a hint of Napa lime spritz.

Ate at the bar, and I chose two appetizers from the menu, which consisted of a mix of California and Italian options, the same went for their wine menu. Bartender Jeremy nicely explained the chef spent time learning to cook in Italy. I choose a restaurant based on their appetizers listed. First starter was the handmade mozzarella accompanied by a green peas coulis or pesto and green sprouts which paired nicely with the wine. After that, I ordered the grilled octopus appetizer. I've speared, cured and ate fresh octopus (tako) on the beaches oh Hawaii, and this grilled octopus was perfectly tender and fresh. Too bad only 4-5 little pieces were on the serving. Accompanying the octopus was a bitter salad of red onion, white cabbage shavings and pieces of grapefruit, all which clashed terribly with the creamy and sweeter aioli and olive oil drizzle. (Chef, please take note!)

Jeremy saw that I was done eating and took my plate away but promptly laid the check down in front of me. UGH..! I'm not finished my wine, and maybe I want more? Is it time for me to go? That's what I love about dining in Europe. Waiters wouldn't dream of giving you the check until you asked for it. In the USA, it's all about table turnover. Otherwise, the food and service...REALLY WONDERFUL and I definitely recommend Cook restaurant!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing