We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal at reasonable price”
Review of Cook

Cook
Reserve with OpenTable
Cook is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 51 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
new york
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal at reasonable price”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our meal here was terrific. It is a small place and casual, but the food was amazingly prepared and the wine we had was really great and not expensive. The service was friendly and informative about the food and wine.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank danchel465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    103
    28
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phenix City, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch and a New Recipe”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I did a walk-in lunch here on our visit to Napa Valley. We have eaten here several times and there is always something new and interesting on the menu or as a daily special. This time it was a pasta which was delicious. I asked the waiter what were the ingredients...tagliatelle with sun-dried tomatoes, chopped green olives, garlic, anchovies, capers, and mesclun. We've added it to our recipes at home. It is delicious.

The wait staff here are pros...what more can I say. It is amazing that they turn out such great food in such a small kitchen. It is no wonder that Cook is so popular with locals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best fresh food and friendly service!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food is amazing. The cheeses and meats are made fresh. I ordered the pork belly on mushroom polenta with a mustard marsala sauce for an appetizer. I have never had pork belly, but the chef is so excellent, I would try anything he cooked! It was excellent. Fresh entrees and wonderful desserts too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Froggie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in St. Helena”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A smaller but wonderful restaurant right on hwy 29 in St. Helena. Five of us shared appetizers (mussels - and the broth was to die for!), and three pasta dishes that were out of this world - loved them all, with the gnocchi being both the most interesting and our favorite. Very reasonably priced - will eat here again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of our faves”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Our wine trips to Napa Valley have to always include lunch or dinner here. Great food w intimate dining and decent wines. luv this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soifdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing