We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place for Port”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Helena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prager Winery & Port Works
Ranked #4 of 13 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,363 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,729 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place for Port”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a funky little winery with signed dollar bills posted all over the walls by visitors to Prager Port. The sayings on them are fun to read while you do their tasting of their wines and ports. My favorites are their port wines.....and I must say, we never leave the place without buying a bottle or two to enjoy in the evening. A bottle will last us a little while.....but we always finish it and return to buy yet another wonderful bottle of what I call the best port in Napa Valley. Its a small tasting room but oh so fun......Its close to other popular wineries in Napa Valley....so worth a stop if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

These guys know port. It is no fuss, no frills-- just one delicious, lovely glass after another. Come here if you are friendly (a must) and serious about ports. There aren't any chairs in the tasting room, so it's more like a cocktail party than anything else. Their white port, Aria, is especially delicious and unlike anything else I've tasted. Awesome!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hansina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was a fun stop for something different. If you like Port you should definitely stop here. We especially liked the Aria white port. Make sure you have a dollar bill with you too so you can sign it and staple it to the wall with everyone else...it's a tradition! The tasting room is a little crowded and there are no counters so everyone sort of shuffles about in there, but the staff were friendly and made sure there was plenty of port to go around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizEWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
914 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Came in to try the Port. Nice stop. It was packed and it is so unique. Money hanging on the walls. everywhere. Cool, Cool Place. Looks a little dirty but the port was goooood

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This place is awful....stay away! Haha, just kidding! I just want to keep it quiet so it is not so busy next time I go. I absolutely LOVE this place. The ports are phenomenal....some are a little more pricey but well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crabof71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I had only two favorite wineries in all of Napa Valley and this was one of them. If you are a fan of port, white port, or a late harvest reisling, you have to stop here!

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
Thank stefscholze19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
559 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 807 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We stopped by this winery on advice of our innkeeper. The tasting was a good value - $10 per person (you can always share) and you get to keep nice souvenir glasses. We tasted 6 wines (mostly ports, one sweet reisling which we ended up buying). The owner poured generous portions (and ports are typically more expensive than other wines). He also sells wine chocolates and port chocolate syrup. We got to go outside and see the grapes being processed.
The tasting room itself is a small and covered in currencies from various countries. If you like sweet wine, this one is a must.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
0.1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
3.3 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
8.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#4 of 9 in St. Helena
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
151 reviews
2.6 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prager Winery & Port Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prager Winery & Port Works

Property: Prager Winery & Port Works
Address: 1281 Lewelling Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-2235
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Also Known As:
Prager Winery & Port Works St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing