We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wine and Grounds”
Review of Rombauer Vineyards

Rombauer Vineyards
Ranked #10 of 116 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our St. Helena Winery, set high on a tree-covered knoll just off Silverado Trail, features a lovely porch with stunning views of the Mayacamas Mountains, a garden with over 100 varieties of plants and flowers, whimsical works of art collected by Koerner Rombauer and wine caves. We offer tastings by appointment from 10 a.M. To 5 p.M. Daily.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best Wine and Grounds”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Excellent tasting room, great wines, and beautiful gardens and grounds. A perfect place to take a romantic or family photo. Friendly, informative staff.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioTexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    61
    35
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great wine and friendly staff. Clean restrooms. The grounds meander down the hill with surprises around each corner. Fun place for great pictures.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful location-Perfect for a picnic”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The gardens are beautiful and the view is outstanding. We did a tasting and the woman that poured for us was a bit snooty. At $15 per person, I think they should actually allow you to sample the wine before looking at you to finish so they could pour the next one. The gardens are worth the trip though. My suggestion would be to buy a bottle and bring some food and find a nice corner to just chill out. The wine was very good and definitely worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlabamaTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Delightful Treat”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stopped at Rombauer because we had their wine at a restaurant and decided to try the winery. What a delightful treat. As we stepped out of the car, Xavier, the gardener/groundskeeper walked up to us and started to chat. He gave us a tour of the gardens, and four leaf clovers! Then we went inside and met with some equally friendly people in the tasting room. In the end, we joined the wine club (can't wait for first shipment) and ended up coming back two days later with the third couple in our group who hadn't been with us the first day. Rombauer was the highlight of our Napa trip because it was such an unplanned treat! Highly recommend the visit to the winery and most especially, the wines!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mokigrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very friendly, fun experience off the beaten path”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We went to see what it looked like as my husband and I love their Chardonnay. What a beautiful setting. Off the main road on the Silverado Trail it would be easy to drive right by the little sign. In fact, we did. We turned around and it ended up being our favorite stop of the day. It wasn't busy and we hit it on a perfect day. Driving up the small hill to the most beautiful view was just the beginning. We had fun with the lady who served us and the feeling was unhurried and felt like we were guests at someone's home. She dressed up for Halloween which added to the Festive atmosphere. We ended up buying some wine and she put in the glasses which we thought was very nice. Great experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bev8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rombauer Vineyards also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Rombauer Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing