We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, unique little place”

Prager Winery & Port Works
Ranked #26 of 116 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prager Winery & Port Works produces premium ports, fortified wines, and dessert and table wines using top quality Napa Valley grapes. We are a winery that has been family owned and operated for three generations and deeply involved in all stages of crafting our premium ports and wines. Located in the heart of Napa Valley, we have been aptly described as the perfect prescription for Port lovers since 1979. Tucked away past a lush garden, the Prager tasting room is like a secret hideaway - rustic and casual - and unlike any tasting room in the Napa Valley. Currency from around the world covers the walls and ceilings. In our intimate tasting room guests can choose from a variety of our delicious offerings. Pick from the Vintage, Tawny and White Ports, or the Petite Sirah and Late Harvest Riesling table wines. To cleanse your palates between tastings, divulge in some of our delectable chocolate truffles and Imogene Prager's sweet and savory walnuts. Browse through our additional offerings from specialty vinegars, custom etched bottles, t-shirts, hats and more. We invite you to step off the beaten path and join us for an exceptional port experience.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
212 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cool, unique little place”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a bit of an add-on to a tour we were taking and a pleasant surprise. It was a quirky little place with some great port offerings. It was a much more natural experience than many of the big commercial wineries on tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jchuran83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    11
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Absolute MUST Go To!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This little winery is not to be missed! Learn and enjoy their incredible ports, including a very rare White Port that is so incredible amazing! Bring a dollar bill to add to their walls. Owned and operated by 3 brothers, down to family feel, not touristy! Our favorite stop in Napa!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TangoJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A fun place to stop”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you love port and everything about port, Prager is certainly a place to add to your list of places to stop while you are in St. Helena. Very laid back, no pressure to buy and they have a great selection. Small and cozy tasting room leads to great interactions with everyone that happens to be there.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ana-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
183 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Never Tasted Better Port”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you like port, this is your place. Prager is definitely unique and you get the feeling the staff takes pride in their small facility, rather than participating in some of the more mass production experiences.
In addition to having tawny ports, they have more fruit forward ports and an amazingly interesting white port. The white port had, what seemed to me, an almost buttered popcorn taste to it at the finish.
We also enjoyed their wines, but in a sea of wines, Prager stands alone with their distinct and tasty ports.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rmcareer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Port!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Another must stop when driving through St. Helena. If you like port this is the place to go. They are a smaller boutique winery, family owned business and they make a great selection of port. Very cool rustic tasting room. Their Royal Escort port is amazing, but we tried their Tomas that really is over the top.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prager Winery & Port Works also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Prager Winery & Port Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing