We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get the Fish and Chips.”
Review of Market

Market
Reserve with OpenTable
Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spring and Adams
Description: Market Restaurant offers an elegant yet comfortable dining experience. Located on Main Street in St. Helena, the historical building features exposed stone walls and an antique bar dating back to the turn of the century. The menu features American classics with a fresh seasonal approach and the wine list offers a diverse selection of wines to complement Chef's creations, with an emphasis on wines from local Napa Valley vintners. In addition to a locally inspired and reasonably priced wine list, Market never charges corkage.
St. Helena, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't get the Fish and Chips.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We live in St. Helena and have gotten this "to go" many times. Never again. You'd be better off getting some frozen fish from Safeway. It's unfortunate that it is impossible to find decent fish and chips Anywhere in the Napa Valley...
I rated this with 2 stars only because it was Fast. The food was obviously Fast also and deserves no stars at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maskwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    258
    68
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“An enjoyable dinner”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Dined here with some friends and really enjoyed the ambience and food. We split their asparagus salad, which was simple yet delicious. For dinner, we selected the scallops, lamb shank, flat iron steak and salmon, all were delicious and wonderfully prepared. The waitress was very helpful in suggesting great wines to accompany our dishes. Bravo!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveltoujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great Dining Experience - No Corkage on Wine”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited the area in December and had dinner at Market. It was an incredible experience to say the least. The atmosphere is wonderful; just the right mix of ambiance and openness. The service and food was spectacular. I had the Day Boat Scallops and my wife had the Organic Chicken Breast; both dishes were great. We brought in our own wine from a day of tasting and enjoyed the no corkage. If your in the area and want a great dining experience; you need to visit Market. We had reservations and they were quite busy; so reservations are strongly suggested.

Cheers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holtster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yountville, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Napa Valley Good Food No Corkage!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Having dined at many local restaurants and finding that Market has a no corkage policy, I had to investigate. Locals assured me the food was always very good and bringing one's own wine was not a turnoff to the servers. Thus we marched forward with two bottles and were treated very graciously. We shared the fried calamari and another and moved on to the scallops, fish and chips and lamb shank. The lamb shank was not a star but the other entries were. Be sure to order the well loved butterscotch pudding as it wonderful. An affordable dinner for four.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NancyGates_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Enjoyed our meal!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal at Market. The steak was excellent and the wine selection was great. Many brought their wine in as they have no corkage fee. Very warm, friendly atmosphere. I didn't sit at the bar, but it was lively and the patrons were having a great time. We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tikiguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing