We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite in St Helena”
Review of Market

Market
Reserve with OpenTable
Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spring and Adams
Description: Market Restaurant offers an elegant yet comfortable dining experience. Located on Main Street in St. Helena, the historical building features exposed stone walls and an antique bar dating back to the turn of the century. The menu features American classics with a fresh seasonal approach and the wine list offers a diverse selection of wines to complement Chef's creations, with an emphasis on wines from local Napa Valley vintners. In addition to a locally inspired and reasonably priced wine list, Market never charges corkage.
Greenville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My favorite in St Helena”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I love Market. The staff is friendly, treating us like regulars whenever we get there which, since we live in Ohio, is not often. The atmosphere is relaxing and quiet enough that we can carry on a conversation without shouting. I love the food - the burger and the short ribs are superb. The wait staff is attentive but not intrusive. And the prices are quite reasonable considering all we got for our money. Market is a must when visiting St Helena.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    258
    68
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not surprising but very good”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We ended up at the last minute at the Market with no great expectation and were very happy of our diner. My oysters were well presented and very fresh, the flank steak generously served. Pleasant service, the manager came discretely twice to check if all was ok. 2 starters 2 main course, 2 glasses of wine $100, good quality/price. I like the big stone walls, very cool design.

Helpful?
Thank BenSoussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We loved our meal at Market. We were warmly welcomed and frequently visited by the host. U can bring your own wine with no corkage fee or order from their wine list. We chose the wine list by the glass which was fantastic. I ordered vegatarian which was the gnocchi. i wanted to be sure to comment on this given an earlier review. I found it to be a fabulous dish: the gnocchi were very light with a rich pesto sauce. Best gnocchi i had in the area!!! My husband had steak which he loved as well. We didnt order the butterscotch pudding which we have been told was the biggest mistake of our trip. Everyone local raves about this! We will have to return to try this. Thank u for a lovely experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lcullen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great experience...”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This restaurant was impressive. They went above and beyond to accomodate us (drinks & food). The food was great (esepcially the fried chicken). We will go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No place for vegans”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you need or want to avoid meat, fish and dairy this place has only one options for you -- a not very tasty veggie burger. It is 2013! Time to show some respect to those of use who need to stay away from the unhealthy stuff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing