We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Market

Market
Reserve with OpenTable
Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spring and Adams
Description: Market Restaurant offers an elegant yet comfortable dining experience. Located on Main Street in St. Helena, the historical building features exposed stone walls and an antique bar dating back to the turn of the century. The menu features American classics with a fresh seasonal approach and the wine list offers a diverse selection of wines to complement Chef's creations, with an emphasis on wines from local Napa Valley vintners. In addition to a locally inspired and reasonably priced wine list, Market never charges corkage.
California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lunch, four diners-Great Crab with corn etc., very fresh good. Chopped salad enjoyed, others loved lobster bisque. Nice ambiance, just a very enjoyable experience. Four people, 3 glasses of wine and lunch $88.00 before tip, very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    247
    68
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best service i've had”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Only decided on this restaurant late in the piece and glad we did.
I love the setting and has a great ambience but the best part was the service and food. We were luckly enough to have Alfie serve our table and he made the night we had. Great to get good service with knowledge of the food and can have fun with a table. Food was very good too. Try some of the salads when you are their - some of the combinations are very different and worth it to try.
If you're in the Napa area do yourself a favour and drop in here for a great night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bott23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality...”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

And not over priced.
My boyfriend is a pretty picky eater....restaurants that have what he refers to as "foo foo" food, we avoid. I looked at so many Napa area restaurant menus online and eliminated many that were recommended to us because of that. So when I read Market's menu I wasn't sure...it didn't sound overly foo-foo, and it came highly recommended by many folks, locals included. Glad we went! The menu had a nice selection of items that would satisfy Mr. Meat and Potatoes, or someone who likes a little more pizzazz to thier food. (Me) ;)
Lovely little place, cozy, very good food.. Had a lovely seat in the window, the staff was attentive and the owner came over and said hello.
No corkage fees if you choose to bring your own wine. We didn't, because we were pretty "wined out" from tasting all day, but that's a nice touch. I doubt many restaurants in that area offer no corkage.

I definitely recommend giving Market a try!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curlygirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great service, great napa experience. The food was fantastic, best halibut i've ever eaten. Would recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First night in Napa”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We ate at Market last night and the experience was excellent. We arrived earlier than our reservation but it didn't matter as we were seated at a nice corner booth table immediately. What followed was a lovely dining experience. Our waiter was extremely personable and the owner makes the rounds greeting his guests with a genuine sincerity.
I started with the lobster roll and my husband had the Ahi tuna. Both plates were generous for starters and the taste exquisite. For the main I had the tomato watermelon salad, and note the feta was actually boconccini. Nonetheless it was very colorful and flavorful. My hubby had the tenderloin and it melted in the mouth, was cooked perfectly and the sides were adequate and nicely presented. All this was capped off with a lovely local wine the owner recommended from Oakville Ranch. It was a full bodied fruity cab yet delicate and light, delicious.

Thanks Market, your team and your food are superb and I'm glad I had the chance to visit. Well done!

Helpful?
Thank Marg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing