We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
Review of Gillwoods Cafe

Gillwoods Cafe
Ranked #10 of 51 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

They don't take reservations, but when I called she put our name on the wait list, we arrived just before our 10 am time, and had just a short wait for our table for 8 of us. The food was wonderful, and the place was packed, so that says it all! Large portions, and great service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DINKS521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    80
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Easy breakfast on way to wine tour”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I were on our way to a wine tour north of Saint Helena. We stopped here for brunch. This place is similar to an IHOP. They have all day breakfast and several other non-breakfast items on the menu. Not quite as extensive as IHOP menu though. We had their short stack pancakes (two large pancakes). Their portions appear to be large so order accordingly. The two pancakes filled me up and I am a moderate size breakfast eater. Prices and service are good. The food was good. The restaurant is right on Main Street so it is easy to find. The only con is parking is on the street so you may have to park on a side street and walk a block. I would dine here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeepDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE place to have breakfast in Napa Valley”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a small family run place, right on main street in St. Helena. This place is so good that whenever I am in the area, I make time in my schedule to eat breakfast there. This morning I drove almost 40 minutes out of my way to have breakfast there. The place is bright and cheery and the service is always friendly. The portion sizes are not overwhelmingly large, but I'm always stuffed when I leave. There is a community table down the middle of the room where you are welcome to sit, but you will have other people sharing the table. One hint, get there before 9:00 or so if you want a seat. Shortly after that the place fills up with locals.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nomad496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“average food as one would expect”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

we had brunch here and it was as expected, decent, average and was fine for what we were looking for but there are far better places than this in town

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“fun and quaint”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Love the location! Service was great. Prices are good. The food, however was really average. We had a patty melt with sweet potato fries and a club sandwich. Both were ok, but have had so much better at several other restaurants, even fast food. No regrets going there, but won't go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djz032070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gillwoods Cafe also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Gillwoods Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing