We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful! ”
Review of Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen - CLOSED

Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hunt St.
Description: Cindy’s Backstreet Kitchen combines a classy supper club with the flair of a speakeasy to create the perfect upscale eatery and neighborhood hang-out. Guests enter the restaurant through the brick patio, which features several tables for alfresco dining, shaded by a 100-year-old fig tree and warmed by the kitchen’s wood-burning oven. Once inside, the lively bar area, with its zinc top, wood floors and cozy banquettes serves up classic and hip cocktails alike, creating the perfect place for a quick lunch, drinks or coffee and dessert after a movie. The downstairs dining room has handmade wooden booths with crisp striped fabric-backed seats next to big windows with lushly planted flower boxes. Floral wallpaper and dark stained hardwood floors add a touch of speakeasy drama, while cozy built-in cabinets display Cindy’s travel artifacts and a selection of her own handmade pottery.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

My friend and I shared a light lunch in the charming wine-country restaurant. You enter through a small courtyard with cute umbrella tables for outdoor dining. We ate indoors in a spacious corner booth. The service was impeccable, friendly, unpretentious. My friend and I shared an order of absolutely divine fried polenta with a green aioli sauce; a delicious avocado and papaya salad on arugula, sprinkled with hazelnuts and a tangy dressing; and the special of the day, a light halibut dish cooked to perfection. We skipped the wine, since wine tasting was on the agenda for later in the day. The cost before tip was $71. Lovely experience.

Thank VickiHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean K, Owner at Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Vicki, thank you for sharing the love for our relaxing outdoor atmosphere and our delicious dishes. It means a lot to hear you felt taken care of with us and enjoyed a perfect meal. We hope this means we'll get to have you back again someday soon.

Until then,
Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 903 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2018 via mobile

Love the food here. The cheese stuffed peppers topped with avocado is amazing! We had a bunch of the salads and the pork tacos. The food is really fresh and lots of flavor. A group favorite!

Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean K, Owner at Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Lisa, thank you for the shining review of our tasty, fresh food and our great service. We hope to have you back again someday soon for another great meal.

Until then,
Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018 via mobile

Perfect location for a pleasant surprise! I had the pollo loco and it was amazing with the avocado and stuffed peppers. The Campfire Pie is a show stopper and downright fun, and tasty!

Thank Mark107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean K, Owner at Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Mark, thank you for sharing the love for our pleasant atmosphere and our delicious food. It means a lot to hear you were a fan of our campfire pie, and we hope to have you back again someday soon. -Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

Every once and a while, you come across a gem by accident. Cindy's backstreet Cafe is one on those. Off the beaten track, but well worth the stop.

Had the adult grilled cheese and a mushroom toast. Delicious.

Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean K, Owner at Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Pierre, thank you for the shining review of our delicious grilled cheese and mushroom toast. It means a lot to hear you always have a wonderful visit with us, and we hope to have you back again someday soon.

Until then,
Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

CBK was really lovely and perfect for our first night in St. Helena. Service was very good. Loved our fried green tomatoes, stuffed peppers, Brutus Caesar salad (AWESOME) and pork carnitas. Reasonably priced and cute atmosphere. Really felt like we were in someone's home.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean K, Owner at Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Susan, we're so happy to hear you're a fan of our restaurant! Thank you for sharing the love for our delicious food and our cute atmosphere. It really means a lot to hear, and we hope to have you back again someday soon.

Until then,
Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing