We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We've Always Enjoyed Mustard's and Now We Have Cindy's”

Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hunt St.
Description: Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen is the place to be in the Napa Valley!
Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We've Always Enjoyed Mustard's and Now We Have Cindy's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our first stop when we visit Wine Country is Mustard's and we always have a wonderful dinner there. On our past visit, we got more than we had bargained for when we learned about Cindy's Back Street Kitchen! We had two fine dinners there during our visit. The room is casual and cheerful and the patio was a fabulous way to end one of our days of wine tasting. We enjoyed great food and "discovered" what has become one of our very favorite wines at the recommendation of our server. Cindy Pawlcyn has outdone herself again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irishmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    229
    67
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No Mustard's, Try Cindy's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is a light and spacious restaurant that has very tasty food, great wine list, good service with in and outdoor seating. It has an upstairs and downstairs that holds plenty of people. Service is good, a wide variety of soups, salads, meat, fish and tasty local cuisine. reservations are helpful, it can get busy and brunch is very busy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Great Lunch Stop in St. Helena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is another of Cindy Pawlcyn's restaurants in Napa Valley. It is located in an historic building off Main Street. My wife and I stopped for a quick and light lunch on our last trip. We simply had soup and an appetizer. Service and food was outstanding.

By the way, Cindy was seriously injured in a horrific traffic accident earlier in 2014 and only now is learning to walk again. She has managed her restaurants from home during her recovery, and her team has not missed a beat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ansel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Have to try Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

This lunch that we had was Amazing! She uses local produce, meat and ingredients to cook her dishes. I had beef stroganoff it by far the best that I had ever had before and I had tiramisu OMG there are no words that can describe it! It was sooooo good. If visiting Napa Ca just try the restaurant you won't regret it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Some have said it is eclectic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Fun spot one block off the main drag. Lots of different taste treats.We sat comfortably outside on the front patio. It was delightfully cool out. We shared an avocado and papaya salad to start. Plenty of it to share with two people, Peppery flavor which went interestingly with the papaya and avocado. We enjoyed it. I had the spinach and mushroom enchilada served nice and hot in the bowl it was cooked it. It was quite good and not too filling. My wife had the better of the two though, with the pollo loco. Boneless chicken quarter, pressed, seared and finished in the oven. Served with some fun sides (e.g. cheese stuffed green pepper.) The wine list was quite good and reasonably priced,I thought. Service was friendly and decent. Fun place. I would go back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank palmdesertdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing