We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, so so service”

Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hunt St.
Description: Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen is the place to be in the Napa Valley!
Hudson Valley, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, so so service”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed delicious entrees, a ribeye steak and enchiladas. The dudes were great, too. The server seemed caught between wanting to serve diners in an upstairs dining area and those of us downstairs; as a result we saw her every ten to fifteen minutes. The dining room seems perfect for the 50-60+ crowd. It's got grandma's wallpaper and quiet, peaceful banquets.

Helpful?
Thank TCATHudsonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    236
    69
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutter Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Wonderful service for a large group”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were here as part of a large group (over 50). The food was fresh and wonderfully prepared. The service was great and I was impressed by the ability to serve such a large group in a very organized manner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RLRaceGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Eclectic Menu”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a delightful dinner recently at Cindy's. We sat in the bar area where the tables are nestled close together. I had pork tacos for an appetizer and spinach enchildas for my entree. My wife opted for a salad and chicken dish for her entree. All the food was savory and it was definitley an energetic crowd. We enjoyed our experience and noted there seemed to be a lot of locals having dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlfraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My husband and I both had the curried chicken salad and thought it was really fantastic. We thought our server was very helpful and loved sitting outside on the patio. We wouldn't think twice about going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WHCTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hanging in there”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Cindy's has always been among my favorite in the valley. Lately, however, the menu and food have suffered in a way that has me going elsewhere. I'll always have a very soft spot in my heart and stomach for Cindy's, but it's just not what it used to be.

A clear example is the mussel dish. It used to be divine. Easily the best muscles that I have ever had, period, and among the top 5 dishes in existence. For whatever reason, probably sales, they changed it to a curry sauce, and now it's awful.

While someone is in the background undermining the muscles, much of the menu has remained pretty static, full of so/so dishes that don't do much for me. In every case, the desserts are off the charts; especially the Campfire Pie.

Cindy's is still among the best in the valley, but it has been and can be much better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing