We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tra Vigne - CLOSED

Tra Vigne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 29
Description: Tra Vigne Restaurant, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley's historic St. Helena, delivers a captivating blend of old world Italy and the fresh, local ingredients of wine country. The vine covered building has tall, grand ceilings. Adjacent is the mesmerizing Tuscan Courtyard, and a canopy of trees with festive white lights offers diners "al fresco" dining in a restaurant that celebrates its 25th year in the Napa Valley. The menu at Tra Vigne represents the marriage of two of the world's most renowned culinary regions: Tuscany - defined by hearty pastas, meats, cheese and olive oil and Napa Valley - a destination that celebrates fresh, local ingredients with a focus on artisanal preparation designed to highlight its acclaimed wines.
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We dined here with friends we had not seen in 40 years. It came highly recommended and it did not disappoint us. First, the structure is gorgeous, like something out of the 1800's. Very picturesque. The host, bartender and server were all very nice and accommodating. Our table had a pizza for appetizer that was excellent! I had the braised shortribs, which literally fell off the bone. They were served over cheese polenta. A nice combination. My husband had a veal and pasta dish with Bolognese sauce, which was also first class. If you are in the Napa Valley, I would recommend visiting Tra Vigne!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skm8661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    238
    95
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved everything about this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has attracted my attention every time we're in Napa but this was the first time we actually ate there. The food was great, the wine selection superb and the service excellent. We'll be back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Went to Napa, San Fran, Portland and Seattle for two weeks. Tra Vinge was the best meal we had the whole trip and believe me, we went to good restaurants. The atmosphere was great, we had no reservation so went early, got a great table by the window which was wide open to a patio so it was an indoor/outdoor feel. Great wine selection, I had the carbonara which was outstanding. My husband had a pork filet which was pounded nice and thin with fresh fettuccini on the side. The sauce was amazing. The seafood misto appetizer was great to share, nice and fresh. The waiter was outstanding. Just go there because its delicious and a great atmosphere. We are still talking about that meal!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank trishsmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
334 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Between average and good in all respects.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly good Italian food. (Not the best but the best is in Italy or NY IMO so maybe I'm spoiled)

Great risotto balls.

We sat indoors but outdoors looked nicer. Service was fine. Fair prices on the wine list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tre bien @ Tra Vigne!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Lovely outdoor patio al fresco! Fabulous meal to match!
It was during the Napa Valley Wine Auction week-end that we made our reservations!
Along with that, a wedding reception and the restaurant packed with patrons our server
never missed a beat! Cudo's to the chef(s) for a meal to remember!
We were a table of 12 foodies/wine lovers who are hard to please so needless to say
you passed our muster!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newport2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tra Vigne also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing