We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gott's Roadside

Gott's Roadside
Ranked #3 of 49 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gott's Roadside is a different kind of burger joint. We serve juicy cheeseburgers with thick chocolate shakes, but our versions of these American classics are made-to-order from top-notch, locally sourced ingredients. Our menu goes beyond the beef to include a renowned Ahi tuna burger, fresh salads and tacos. Try finding those at your average drive-in. Our commitment to local sourcing also extends to the glass: our list of California wines and beers means you can order a cheeseburger with a high-end Napa Valley cabernet, or sip a San Francisco-brewed Anchor Steam alongside your spicy, sweet potato fries.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The food here is so good--great burgers, fish tacos, ice cream. Just what you might need after a few days of wine-tasting and fine dining. You can eat there, at counters or picnic tables on the rear lawn, or place your order, even via email, and pick up.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mstraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    410
    112
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
177 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not your usual drive-in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

This place is a gem of a drive-in! We visited at lunchtime on a Wednesday and the line was short, but I would wait in a long line now that I know how good the food is! I had a chicken Caesar salad, and my husband and two adult sons each had a different burger, garlic fries and sweet potato fries. The menu is extensive for a drive-in, even offering beer, wine and milkshakes! It is a bit expensive, but I felt everything was good quality. It's a smooth order/pick-up process, with a very clear speaker system for calling names when your order is ready and lots of picnic tables/counters in three different areas. The grounds were impeccably neat, and there was a restroom in the building as well as a clean portable restroom. Give it a try!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Delivers the goods!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Sometimes a simple burger and fries is just what the doctor ordered and Gotts certainly delivers! The menu is actually quite broad, and there is something for everyone. The lines can be a bit unnerving but if you go off peak they are certainly manageable. A great alternative to the fancy dining options that prevail and a welcome taste of nostalgia!

Helpful?
Thank DJSinHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Must Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went to Gott’s for lunch after a few wine tastings and were shocked to see how long the line was on a Wednesday afternoon (20 minutes). This was a good indication of things to come! The menu is simple but has offerings that will fit any type of taste/preference/dietary restriction. As a traditionalist we went with a Gott Burger, a hot dog and onion rings. The burger was cooked to perfection and it was clear that the patty was hand formed rather than machine pressed. The hot dog was a higher quality beef frank that was large enough to constitute as a meal. The real winner was actually the onion rings, they were perfect. They were battered but the crust was thin enough that they weren’t too greasy and they still provided a nice cruch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gott's to try it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here during our wine tour. A little shack in St. Helena, but was the food ever good. I think there's always a line up for this place but its worth the wait. I got the Wisconsin sourdough with onion rings. It was good and filling. My girlfriend got the Blue cheese burger with fries, and she also enjoyed it. There was 20 of us but there's plenty of picnic bench seating in a park setting behind the restaurant.
Total with a lemonade ( they do have beer though) was $33.27.
Good stuff!

Helpful?
Thank tyo_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gott's Roadside also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Gott's Roadside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing