We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Black Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pinehurst, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This beautiful Inn is truly a rare find. The suites are fresh and spacious with amazingly comfortable beds, divine linens and sumptuous towels. Every detail has been attended to and even the most discriminating travelers will be pleased. Inn Keeper Jeff is a unique host whose knowledge of area restaurants and wineries is invaluable. As much as we loved our days at the wineries, we looked forward each evening to returning to this very special Inn. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
89
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Pines, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We cannot say enough great things about Jeff and Black Rock Inn. We traveled to Napa in September with several couples and had a great time. Jeff is the perfect host, the food was amazing, rooms were perfect. His winery and restaurant recommendations were very helpful. We will definitely return to Black Rock for our next trip to Napa. It is very apparent Jeff loves what he does and is so good at it. Thanks for an amazing visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed with Jeff at the Black Rock Inn mid August 2013 and our entire experience was absolutely fantastic. From the booking, to personal conversations ahead of time, the accommodations, recommendations and itinerary planning - everything was top notch and even better than we anticipated. It was our first trip to the region and clearly our trip would not have been the same had we chosen a different place to stay. By the end of the trip we had all decided that when we came back there was no doubt we'd stay at the Black Rock Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I, along with great friends of ours, recently took our dream trip to Napa Valley. We had never been before and were really looking for a great experience. Well, staying at the Black Rock Inn with Jeff was the best decision we could have made! The Inn is beautiful and the location and property are fantastic - but it is Jeff, the owner and host, who makes the Black Rock experience one we will never forget!
Jeff served up delicious breakfasts every morning and was able to deal with my wife's allergies and made things specifically for her, which we definitely appreciated. As first time visitors to Napa, we had Jeff organize wine tours, tastings, and lunch for us - and all were fantastic. He listened to what we wanted and came through for us with his connections to very small, boutique wineries that were a pleasure to visit.
Jeff is also an avid wine collector who has a tremendous amount of knowledge and a great appreciation for great wine - something we really enjoyed and admired. Every afternoon Jeff would sit with us and chat and have a few glasses of wine. His recommendations for dinner were spot on and he did absolutely everything to make sure we had a tremendous time.
We were only in Napa for 3 days, but at the end of the trip, we all felt that we had made a new friend in Jeff. Without him, our trip would have never been what it turned out to be - one that we will have great memories of forever!
We definitely plan on future returns to Napa Valley and to the Black Rock Inn - and anyone else who is planning a trip to Napa should do everything they can to stay there as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Jeff is a fabulous host and his property, food and wine cellar are truly remarkable. We loved the ambiance of afternoons wine tastings with Jeff and other guests. His innovative breakfasts were delicious. His restaurant recommendations were excellent and he arranged a personalized wine tasting with a small vineyard which aded some gems to our cellar. We had too small a trunk to bring back souvenirs but Jeff arranged for their delivery to our doorstep. Our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My girlfriends and I recently spent three nights at the Black Rock Inn to celebrate our collective 30th birthdays.

We took over the insanely adorable guest cottage and it couldn't have been more perfect for us. Equally comfortable, chic and spacious, the cottage had everything you'd want for a luxurious weekend away - cozy beds, beautiful decor and a private patio to die for. We had a private outdoor fireplace, flowers, ivy, heaters, a large community table... the list goes on an on.

In addition to staying at a beautiful home in St. Helena (perfectly located in the Valley), at Black Rock Inn you get your own personal concierge service and chef! Before we even arrived, the owner, Jeff, provided us with tons of local recommendations and went so far to make hard-to-get reservations for dinner. Upon arrival, he was very accommodating, generous with his wine, cooked a delicious breakfast each morning, and even confirmed limo and spa appointments on our behalf. At the end of each day, we'd come home to turndown service and a lit fireplace on our private patio - what more could you ask for?

I highly recommend the Black Rock Inn for your Napa getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Jeff did a great job hosting our family for Father's day. We had a wonderful weekend in Napa with great food and great wine.

Breakfast here was very tasty and Jeff made some great recommendations in planning our tastings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
0.5 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
3.3 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#7 of 9 in St. Helena
157 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meadowood Napa Valley
Meadowood Napa Valley
#1 of 9 in St. Helena
1,798 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inn St Helena
Inn St Helena
#2 of 13 in St. Helena
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Inn

Property: Black Rock Inn
Address: 3100 Silverado Trl N, St. Helena, CA 94574-9719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Rock Inn is an upscale Inn in the heart of Napa Valley Wine Country. Surrounded by world-class vineyards, the two-acre estate offers multiple Suites in the Main House, a separate two-bedroom house (available for monthly rental) and gorgeous outdoor event space. Since we customize each party's stay, we prefer to take reservation by phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Black Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing