We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now named "Archetype"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of French Blue - CLOSED

French Blue
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Adams Street
Description: Fantastic Place. Only been open a week. great salads and wonderful patio for enjoying a glass of wine and the sites!!
NYC
Level Contributor
395 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Now named "Archetype"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was a great place to have brunch before hitting the wine trails! All of the meal was impeccable from the drinks to the dessert we ordered. The indoor decor is really beautiful and makes you feel like you have been taken to another country! This will be a regular stop when we hit up Napa!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Va9nessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    35
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First day open for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I love Napa Valley for it's cuisine, I'm in the wine business so I travel there often.

We found French Blue as usual by driving around and checking out the scene. We got to the restaurant right when they opened for lunch on their first day open for lunch. We had no idea it was their first day of business at the time, you would have never known by the great food and service, it usually takes months to get these things running smoothly.

We had the farmers pickled vegetable mix, then the best French onion soup that I have had in the States. I got the Burger and fries and it was fantastic perfectly cooked mid-rare.

This place is owned by Leslie Rudd of Rudd Winery, Press Steak house and the famous Oakville Grocery . I highly recommend. Nice small menu and very good Napa cuisine . I visited in June 2012, web site wont let me go back that far!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely evening out, service was a little slower but we prefer it that way. Knowledge of the wine and food menu was thorough. Food, although not perfect was very good - especially the lemon meringue pie. Cocktails were delicious too. We had a good laugh with the matre d and the night was relaxed. Would love to come back again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Contemporary decor & Scandinavian style menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This is an ideal stop for a healthy lunch. The place has been refurbished and renamed "Archetype" with a complicated slogan: "A singular idea, a classic example - A standard, an ideal experience". The menu was refreshing with a good variety for food that reminded me of Scandinavia.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meriah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

The atmosphere was causal and nice. We ordered several appetizers to split. I don't remember what we ordered for they were much different than typical appetizers offered. Very flavorful with fresh ingredients. I enjoyed being adventurous and trying new flavors. I ordered the salmon and my wife had halibut. Both were delicious. The portions were good and there was no corkage fee. I can see this being a favorite among locals. Wonderful flavors, healthy and fresh farm to table food. I would definitely return. it won't cost you an arm and a leg to eat at this restaurant. Good value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Blue also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing