We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more”
Review of French Blue - CLOSED

French Blue
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Adams Street
Description: Fantastic Place. Only been open a week. great salads and wonderful patio for enjoying a glass of wine and the sites!!
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I had a reservation here for Easter Sunday in the early afternoon. Due to rain we cut other plans short and ended up here early. The host/owner took a look at his reservations and available tables and was able to fit us in at a table near the front of the restaurant along the banquette. We decided to have breakfast foods although other options were available. Someone at the next table had a great looking burger. Everything was good but our favorites were the cheddar biscuit, bacon and the oatmeal. The service was professional and everyone we met at the restaurant was very nice. The decor is light and furnishings attractive and comfortable. There is a very nice bar area and the patio looks like the perfect place to spend a summer evening. This was our favorite restaurant from our weekend in Napa.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scootoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    35
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner/breakfast”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have had two really good breakfasts at French Blue so we decided to go for dinner. Several friends said they enjoyed the food but unfortunately we did no find that to be true. My husband had the stuffed trout which was marginal. I had the pork steak which was over cooked and not tasty at all. My son had the steak dinner which looked like a very thin breakfast steak. This is truly unfortunate because we really want to support the local restaurants. We will go back for breakfast and will attempt lunch in the future but not sure about going for dinner again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaCAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwestern US
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good, Not Great But Solid Good”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice Martha Stewart-esque ambiance perfect for the "Chick Food" category. Went there with family and friends of 6 people for late lunch/early dinner. Nice flavors some items were impressive, others not great but still middle-good. The prices are rather high for the tastier, non-pretentious items and pricey for what you get compared to say larger, non-tourist areas. But compared to other tourist offenders in St. Helena, it isn't a Usual Suspect as far as tourist muggings go.

We have been there 3 times and among the people probably tasted almost everthing on the menu. Almost all were solid with no glaring low points except one - the fried pumpkin/kabucha was very disappointing. Compared to the gold standard in Hawaii, this should be dropped. The garlic french fries may be the stand out high point - perfect texture, crispness and flavor.

I wouldn't seek it out among my travels due to value, but it wouldn't be a mistake either.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pbinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“2 strikes and you're out...”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We gave this new restaurant a second chance after a so-so first experience. Our mistake. Decor is elegant but problematic. They use bench seating and you are forced to sit very close to the people just next to you. No privacy, very un-romantic, and you feel like you have to whisper. You can't adjust your seat for comfort because it's a bench with other people sitting on it.
Bad design feature. Second, the service is indifferent and rare. Saw our server when she took the order and when we flagged her down to get the check. Finally, the menu is hard to choose from because nothing is very interesting. Esoteric and unappealing. Had the pork T- bone, medium rare. Dry dry dry. My wife had the lamb. No flavor. Prices are over inflated. There are SO MANY other great choices in St Helena. Try Market, goose and Gander, Cindy's Backstreet, Cook. This place has to change everything right away. Won't give it a 3rd chance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tried to do as much Barefoot Contessa as possible”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I do not remember Ina going here but, we fell upon it. It was lovely yet, a little to full of it's self. However, we were happy with the bar service and food. We had Tomatilla Baked Farm Eggs, the Dates and Cashew Salad and the Sunchoke soup of the day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Blue also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing