We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile and comfortable atmosphere”
Review of French Blue - CLOSED

French Blue
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Adams Street
Description: Fantastic Place. Only been open a week. great salads and wonderful patio for enjoying a glass of wine and the sites!!
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service with a smile and comfortable atmosphere”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My family and I came to French Blue for dinner (with no reservation) after a terrible experience at Cook that was thankfully cut short. Stanley, the GM at French Blue, was so welcoming and sincere, and he even brought us a free pizza for the table after he heard our story of Cook. I had the trout, which was excellent and is one of their signature dishes. My family loved all the food, but the service and decor is what really impressed us. Stanley checked on us throughout the night, and our server was also very friendly and helpful. We loved the comforting decor of the restaurant, and the open space. They also have outdoor seating and serve breakfast every day. I love this place!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    35
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Mrs found this gem of a restaurant in Amex Departures magazine while planning our week in Napa. just a Small little plug about a couple of their dishes. The place is drop dead gorgeous, awesome bar, beautiful decor, Alphonso our server was exceptional, and the food was spectacular.

The dumplings, the sole, the flatbreads, amazing farm to table salads, all fantastic!

Met Stanley the owner, who was working the door the entire evening (how refreshing to see this these days) and he's very gracious and charming.

Beautiful outdoor patio with awesome fireplace/pit.

An absolute MUST if you are anywhere within 30 miles of this place. Departures usually doesn't miss- they sure didn't on this gem!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Atmosphere Awesome! Food Good.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great place! Loved the atmosphere and service! Very excellent! Food was good and would recommend with the catch that it's EXPENSIVE! Most things are in Napa Valley but we had a routine breakfast, no alcohol or extras and it was $48 for breakfast. But if you don't mind spluging, the ambiance is awesome. They have a very cute patio to dine on in warmer weather. I loved it, just get ready to pay some cash.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hadley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I love this restaurant! I've been here about 6 times since it opened last summer and it always is amazing. Not only is it one of the few restaurants in St. Helena that serves breakfast, French Blue has a menu that is always slightly evolving (do there is always something new to try). It has both indoor and outdoor seating (with an outdoor fire when times are chilly). I can't recommend this place enough!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makelly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent as was the service. The $10 corkage fee was reasonable. It has a relaxed atmosphere and not noisy so that you can carry on a conversation with your Tablemates.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Blue also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing