We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quant winery and cool tour”
Review of Duckhorn Vineyards

Duckhorn Vineyards
Ranked #7 of 118 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Co-founded by Dan and Margaret Duckhorn in 1976, Duckhorn Vineyards has spent almost forty years establishing itself as one of North America's premier producers of Napa Valley wines. Visit the winery in St. Helena, CA for an unforgettable wine country experience.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was one of our favorite wineries of the day. Tour guide was so knowledgeable and so very nice. The property is so pretty, along with the building where the tasting is. Very warm and welcoming. Kudos Duck horn!

Thank shephe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Duckhorn Vineyards
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 296 of 367 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited this winery for about an hour. Purchased the tasting which we shared, plus the cheese. The tasting was wonderfully structured to let us compare teir mainstream wines with their high-end wines side by side. The cheese was a locally made cheddar and outstanding. This vineyard is beautiful. Absolutely pristine. Great staff.

Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were on a roll, visiting winearies and buying wine to ship home. At Duckhorn we had to wait in line for a table even though we had a reservation. Others with no reservation waited in the same cue. So remind me again why we had a reservation? The wine was delivered by a "mute" host. He plunked down the little cards and poured the wine. He did not offer any information, we asked about a wine club and shipping wine and he plunked down a brochure. We knew he could talk because he spent time chating up two young women at another table. Was it my imagination or was the wine tastless? Bad service, average wine, a waste of time.

1  Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley H, Manager at Duckhorn Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Tom,

We always try to give exceptional service that’s warm and friendly and I regret that we didn’t meet your expectation. Because we operate a lot like a restaurant with by-appointment sit-down tastings, we can’t always seat people when they arrive, but we attempt to check everyone in within 5 minutes of being on property. That said, I am very sorry that once you were seated the experience did not improve. We hold ourselves to a very high standard of customer service at Duckhorn Vineyards, and it appears that we failed to deliver upon that objective during your visit. If you would like to reach out and discuss the details of your tasting further please feel free to contact me at ahancock@duckhorn.com.

Sincerely,

Ashley
707.967.2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stopped by duckhorn on the end of our second day or tasting and did walk-in tasting at the garden/patio. This tasting fee at $30 was one of the steepest. Our server barely spent any time at all with us and even poured the first wine without explaining it. W There was no food offered for the pairing. The location and the day was beautiful, but we had the misfortune of being hardly noticed and would not recommend tasting here. They also poured all five red wines into tiny white wine glasses and wouldn't offer a red wine glass even upon request. Most disappointing since we stopped here because we're fans of their merlot.

1  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley H, Manager at Duckhorn Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear SH,

I'm very sorry you didn't have a positive experience during your visit. We're incredibly passionate about providing exceptional customer service and this obviously did not come across during your tasting. I hope that you'll come back and give us the opportunity to amend this impression. Please reach out if you would like to discuss the details of your experience further.

Sincerely,

Ashley
Estate House Manager
ahancock@duckhorn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

What was not to like? A beautiful location, great food accompaniments to the wine.
Friendly staff, not overcrowded, a great experience. there are definitely better wines in Napa but visiting this winery is a great experience.

Thank 10izboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duckhorn Vineyards also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Duckhorn Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing