We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”

VGS Chateau Potelle
Ranked #9 of 118 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: VGS Chateau Potelle offers two different visitor experiences. At our Tasting House & Garden in St. Helena, visitors enjoy a seated tasting of 4 wines, each in their own Riedel glass, paired with food bites from Michelin star rated La Toque Restaurant. Open year-round daily 10AM-5PM; $45 per person. Reservations are strongly recommended. "Lunch Above the Clouds" is available only to Chateau Potelle Wine Club Members. This unique vineyard tour, wine tasting and 5 course lunch on our mountain vineyard is an outdoor experience available April-November only. Reservations are required 48 hours in advance; valued at $185 per person.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our awesome innkeeper at the inn on Randolph recommended the "lunch above the clouds" at the chateau potelle. This ended up being our favorite meal and experience we had in napa and one we will never forget. Tony was an awesome guide, the wines were all delicious and the views were incredible! we wanted something special for our wedding anniversary and had a side of a mountain and vineyard to ourselves for the afternoon--it was just amazing! Going to be ordering some of their wines soon!

Thank mrandmrsb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarisseK_11, Owner at VGS Chateau Potelle, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

We are so happy you celebrated your anniversary with us! And also very pleased that you were able to enjoy our outdoor experience while the weather was dry and mild. From December through approximately March, cold and wet weather forces us to close down for the season. We hope you will make reservations with us to come again next spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for VGS Chateau Potelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 113 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was by far and away our best and most unique Napa experience. The drive to the vineyard is amazing, the walk up the vineyard to the "gazebo" is beautiful, and the view from the top is breath-taking. Lunch is catered in from La Toque--great food. Tony is a fantastic host. The wines are amazing-some of the best we tasted in all of Napa. This was part of our 25th Anniversary celebration-we will never forget it. Where else can you have a private and secluded lunch on top of a mountain, in the middle of a vineyard. You should book this experience now.
Joel S./Toba W.

Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarisse K, Owner at VGS Chateau Potelle, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you Joel & Toba for sharing your anniversary with us! We are proud to be part of your memories of your very special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lunch at Chateau Potelle was among the most memorable meals I've ever had. A private lunch with great friends in a beautiful vineyard with outstanding wines and an excellent meal - what's not to love. While I'm looking forward to a return visit, I'm going to enjoy the wines that I shipped home.

Thank MaryLee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarisse K, Owner at VGS Chateau Potelle, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

We're so glad to have made your visit to our beautiful Napa Valley so memorable and thank you for sharing your pleasure with others. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had lunch in the Chateau Potelle vineyard on a Sunday afternoon, and without question it was a bit of heaven on earth and the highlight of our trip to Napa. The views could not have been more stunning anywhere in the valley. The food was excellent and the VGS wines outstanding.

To say that we were surprised to find that our reservation was a private luncheon would be an understatement. The experience was incredible and one we will long remember thanks to not only the wine, food and setting, but to a very gracious host. Tony made the experience special from the moment we met him at the gate until we reluctantly said good-bye. His knowledge about Napa, the vineyard and winemaking, not to mention his gracious hospitality, made our visit!

We look forward to receiving the wine we ordered and sharing our memorable experience with friends.

Dale H

2  Thank fdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarisse K, Owner at VGS Chateau Potelle, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for allowing us the pleasure of your visit. We love to hear that you enjoyed your visit with VGS Chateau Potelle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a gem tucked high in the mountains of Napa. Our visit here was truly the highlight of our entire trip through the valley. You can look at the pictures and read the reviews but nothing will compare to actually sitting on cloud nine and taking it in.

The wine absolutely speaks for itself. I know the west coast has some amazing wines but Chateau Potelle wines are simply unique. Paired with great food, conversation and a view that stays with you forever, this is a place that makes you feel special.

I hope we are fortunate enough to return here many times. This will always be our starting point.

Roger Stevens

Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarisse K, Owner at VGS Chateau Potelle, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Now you understand why we call our mountain gem "Cloud Nine!" We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VGS Chateau Potelle also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to VGS Chateau Potelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing