We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, scenic, and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vineyard Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed one night at the Vineyard Country Inn, and had a very pleasant experience. The inn has rooms in more than one building. Our room was about halfway between the office and the road, and road noise was not a problem. The landscaping around the rooms was quite nice.

We used the fireplace in the room. They burn a fake [paper] log, but it lasts at least 3 hours. We requested and got another log to burn, but you only burn one at a time.

We used the hot tub, and it was good. The jets are on a timer, which seemed to last quite a while (didn't time it). Since it was November, we had to scramble to find a small table for our stuff, and there were no chairs around the pool or hot tub, but that was not a problem. The robes in the room came in handy for going to/from the hot tub.

The lady who checked us in was most helpful, getting us an extra fireplace log, pool towels, etc. and when I tried to tip her (for our numerous requests), she refused it, saying that was part of the service.

The breakfast in the morning was sufficient, but not extaordinary.

I would stay there again.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2009

They take great care of their property. The rooms are meticulously decorated, very clean and stocked with what you need and many extras. The views of the vineyard next door from the balcony of our room were extraordinary-if we didn't know any better we could have been sitting at a french vineyard!

No complaints on the staff, hotel, breakfast, or pool. All great. We were so happy we chose this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lsr2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

i have been staying at this hidden treasure for about 10years. i am always amazed at the intimate feeling this inn has and how even after staying there for so many years the place still seems fresh and calm. the grounds are beautiful, having matured very well over the years, the employees always helpful and friendly. can't say enough good things about the place.

have been introducing it to many friends over the years and without exception they like it and feel it is a great value for the area. people who complain about the price have not spent much time checking prices in this area!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
4  Thank bonehemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

This would be such a great find if they had decent window coverings in the bedroom. Only insipid semi-sheer blinds that let all the light come into the room at sunrise. If you are an early riser this is a great place; I had to go buy a sleep mask. The room was nice and large with a terific bathroom setup for couples, good continental breakfast, too. Great location and very reasonable rates. But the brightness of the bedroom is a deal breaker, I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princecharming76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We've just returned from a two night stay at the Vineyard Country Inn, a place we had never tried on any of our wine country trips, though friends had often recommended it. This time we were part of a large group which required 7 rooms. The Inn accommodated our party with ground floor rooms, which we greatly appreciated. The Inn is situated about a half mile away from downtown St. Helena directly on Highway 29 in the direction of Napa. As such, there is considerable traffic and its accompanying noise. There were certain times of the day when the traffic made it quite hard to access the highway when we were making excursions into St. Helena or south to Oakville.

I found the Inn itself to be charming. It has slate roofs and the brick chimneys are very creative (spirals and other decorative masonry touches). The grounds are heavily planted and the brick pathways to the rooms wander among jasmine, roses and other fragrant shrubbery (it is springtime anyway). The reception area is quite small, but the adjoining dining rooms are more commodious and look out onto the pool. The Inn keeps the tables set with china and silver, a lovely touch. I must say the pool was quite dirty when we arrived, but the pool man came the next day and it was much more appealing then. Nevertheless, it was quite cold (water temp- mid 60's) so only the heartiest of our entourage ventured into the water. More of us did use the spa, though.

Our suite had a sitting room with couch, coffee table, sink, fireplace and TV (no flatscreens here, though). The bedroom also had a TV in an armoir and another vanity area with a sink. And there was another, of course, in the bathroom. The king bed was very comfortable, though sheets were a little on the stiff side, which can occur with higher thread count. Our bedroom window faced the highway, but I did not find the noise to be overly bothersome, except for the occasional diesel truck. However, there was an annoying "air raid" type siren that went off nearby each night.

Breakfast was limited is scope, but offered very nice assorted coffee cakes, cereal, fruit and very good coffee! I particularly enjoyed morning runs from the Inn. I went south on the Highway about a block, turned right at the Ford dealer and proceeded down a country road through scattered houses and vineyards. You can make a 2 mile loop that brings you back past St. Helena High School.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank mgtinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

My fiance treated me to this lovely bed and breakfast suite on my 21st birthday for three nights. It is a refreshing country property. Very quaint and in the heart of wine country. I felt at home and the grounds are beautiful w/ private patios and cute walkways A little pricey, but you are in St Helena. It was a wonderful break from college and a place to go with the one you love:)

  • Stayed: June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank orchidgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

The property was well maintained and the location was excellent for wine touring. However, the Inn is on a heavily traveled road. Be sure to ask for a cottage farthest way from the road. The traffic stays heavy from 5am to 11pm. Our cottage also had a problem with smoke from the fireplace from the minute we walked in. We had to leave windows and doors open for relief from the odor but then got more road noise. We did bring this up to the management with no results. Obviously, we did not use the fireplace. We looked for somewhere else to stay but there were no vacancies. The best part of the stay was the fresh morning pastries. They have a good pastry chef.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda19712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helena hotels
0.3 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
2.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
1 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#5 of 9 in St. Helena
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn St Helena
Inn St Helena
#2 of 12 in St. Helena
222 reviews
3 mi away
Spanish Villa Inn
Spanish Villa Inn
#7 of 12 in St. Helena
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shady Oaks Country Inn
Shady Oaks Country Inn
#6 of 12 in St. Helena
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Country Inn

Address: 201 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: $199 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vineyard Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Vineyard Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Vineyard Country Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing