We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay, Great Host!”
Review of Spanish Villa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spanish Villa Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Spanish Villa very much! The rooms and grounds are pretty. The well water is delish'. The continental breakfast is basic, but very nice with freshly cut fruit salad, hard boiled eggs, assorted fresh bagels and muffins, yogurt and fresh juice, coffee and tea and pretty place settings. The customer service is excellent, with Phil there to ensure your stay is seamless, stress-free and enjoyable. He even offered to drive us to the wedding we were going to and pick us up afterward! The location is very convenient, central to most of the vinyards and a bike ride away from Calistoga.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 155 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hosts were incredibly attentive and hospitable. The B&B was quite comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. The bathroom was modern and the king-bed comfortable. If anything negative, the outside needed a little sprucing up. The location worked well with Napa Valley winery visits and was even convenient to the best route over the mountain to the Sonoma side.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Madrid room. Looked out on attractive, grassy backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The estate is stylish, comfortable and nice decorated. Phil is a very pleasant host. He even drove us in his Jaguar to the farmrestaurant in St. Helena and picked us up late at night. Breakfast is high quality.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Spanish villa and would recommend it to anyone. The bed was comfortable, the included breakfast filling and Phil was a great host from start to finish. It is conveniently located right next to several vineyards and is an easy drive from Napa. The property is quiet and well stocked with books, a TV and fridge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpanishVillaInn, Manager at Spanish Villa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Spanish Villa Inn ! Please visit us again for your next trip to Napa Valley !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stay two nights here and could not have asked for more. We frequent B&B during our adventures because we generally find them to be very private and homey. We have stayed at some VERY expensive B&Bs and decided we want something low key and cute this time and could not have selected a better B&B in Napa.

Located in St Helena (Northern district of Napa) we were close enough to downtown St Napa as well as the Stags Leap district to have visited few SL District wineries during our stay. Phil, the Inn keeper, is absolutely amazing. I stopped posting reviews on TA because it was rather time consuming but I feel the absolute need to share our lovely experience here.

There are a lot of "lovely" places in Napa you could stay; however you won't find many places as inviting as this place. This is my 6th Napa trip and the absolute best. Will Phil not only drive you to your dinner reservations, but also bring you food from the locally frequently places (ok, ok, we may have had too much wine to be dining out that night). Some B&B I have stayed make you feel like you're a "customer"; Phil made us feel like we belong here. We opted not to visit too many vineyards on our second day only because we wanted to spend more time at the Inn. The Bocce ball area was so playful and fun, and their terrace was just so relaxing. They even let me play their piano whenever I wanted to and my partner was able to enjoy wine watching me play the piano during our stay.

Phil also offered us 2 for 1 tasting V. Sattaui vineyard which was nice. We were able to get cheese and charcuterie products along wines and port and was able to enjoy our day. He was very accommodating and visited us frequently without being overpowering.

We stayed at the "wine" room which features a private balcony. The room was just beautiful and the bed was as comfy as the Ritz we stayed in during our DC visit. I would not only recommend this Inn to my friends and family but can not wait to visit Phil and this lovely area again soon. I would not stay anywhere else in Napa but here.

Room Tip: The "Wine" room features a private balcony which was absolutely fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazyboutizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpanishVillaInn, Manager at Spanish Villa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Michael and Jacey -

Incidentally, it is Memorial Day and we want to thank you for your awesome service in the Military !

It was terrific having you stay with us here at the Spanish Villa Inn and truly enjoy the surroundings on the property ! Most of the time, guests are only there to sleep at night and after grabbing breakfast they are out the door and gone for the majority of the day. It was refreshing to have you two enjoying playing bocce while relaxing under the shade of the trees !

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review and we welcome you back the next time you are headed to the beautiful wine country !

Regards,

Roy and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed for two nights last month and it was great. The owner and the innkeeper, Phil, were very nice and accommodating. The inn was quiet and homey. The beds are super comfortable. Phil makes a delicious breakfast every morning as well. He offered to drive us into town for dinner one night and even picked us up! He also assisted my husband in setting up a nice birthday surprise for me at the inn which we really appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpanishVillaInn, Manager at Spanish Villa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

It was really nice having the two of you stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed the property and swinging away at your surprise pinata ! Come see us again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Spanish Villa Inn is a great value stay in St. Helena. Roy, the owner, and his innkeeper, Phil, are both wonderful, welcoming hosts. The villa is homey, the tree-filled grounds are well kept and the St. Helena location is a short drive from more great wineries than you can shake a stick at. I like this type of B&B, one more focused on welcoming you and making you feel comfortable than killing you with cuteness, doilies and teddy bears.

I really liked the Barcelona room. Like a lot of the rooms, it has a private patio. It was sweet to lounge in the sun and read with the sounds of cooing doves and songbirds in the air. It's rare that I stay at a place with a comfortable bed worth noting! This one was a luxurious California King. Nice sized room, with nice touches. It's not quite Architectural Digest, but I like the villa's vibe. The bathroom was large, featuring a shower/tub with good water pressure. The toiletries are only halfway to upscale, but don't people who care the most about shampoos and lotions bring their own anyway? The wifi worked well. Cell service is spotty - but that's the valley. I was happy with everything about the room and facility. And I didn't even take advantage of the bocce ball court!

The highlight of the breakfast included with your stay is the house-made granola prepared by Roy's wife. It's served with fresh fruit and yogurt, juice, coffee, a selection of bagels, English muffins and hard boiled eggs. There are tables in a couple of rooms and outside, so you can chat with other guests or keep to yourself. I think the timing was 7:30 - 9:30. Roy is a retired language professor and a hoot to converse with. How often do you meet a real polyglot? And he does some great accents.

Here's my take on staying here versus other options. If you're feeling flush, the Harvest Inn across the valley has an even more beautiful setting and a more extensive brunch spread. But sometimes, you don't want to empty your wallet just to visit the slice of heaven known as Napa Valley. Or maybe you just want to have dollars left to buy more bottles of wine... You'd pay a little less and get a lot less in return at some of the "bargain" B&B's and hotels around these parts. Roy's villa is quiet, clean, comfortable and inviting. And being in St. Helena, instead of down in Napa is a huge advantage for really enjoying the entirety of the valley!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.1 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
6.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
466 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
6.1 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Villa Inn

Address: 474 Glass Mountain Rd, St. Helena, CA 94574-9534
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: $177 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spanish Villa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Spanish Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Villa Hotel St. Helena
Spanish Villa Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing