We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Place”
Review of Spanish Villa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spanish Villa Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Spanish Villa in mid-August. When I made the reservation, it was listed under B&Bs. We've had only a few B&B experiences between us, but our expectations were set in advance. In retrospect, I would classify Spanish Villa as more of a small boutique hotel than a B&B, although it certainly borders on being a B&B. Nonetheless, it's so much better than the B&Bs we've stayed in. It's peaceful and relaxing, our room was nice, comfortable and clean, the grounds are serene, the location is excellent, and the service was terrific. Phil, our host during our stay, is a really nice guy, is very conscientious, he's there and helpful when you need him, but he's invisible when you don't, not hovering in the background waiting to over-serve you. There was a 90-minute window of time for breakfast, not a hard and fast time like other places we've stayed, seating was open, rather than forced and regimented, and you can be as social or asocial as you want to be. It was a far more laid-back, at-your-own-pace experience than we were expecting, which was just the way we like it. It was a nice place to call home for a couple of days, and a great value relative to the alternatives in Napa Valley. Great stay! Thanks Phil!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 155 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Let me preface my review by saying that I am an avid traveler, and a five-star review is not something that I hand out easily. My family and I just returned from our 3-4 night stay at the Spanish Villa Inn, and we thoroughly enjoyed it from the moment we arrived. Phil (the inn-keeper) was so very kind, attentive and hospitable that words cannot express just how grateful we were for everything he did. The Spanish Villa Inn will be our go-to place in St. Helena from this point forward!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our first time staying in the napa area, and we looked at quite a few places to stay for our 3rd aniversary. The choice for the Spanish Villa Inn was a shot in the dark, and we ended up hitting the jackpot.
Neslted in the hills of wine country near St Helena, it was only a few min drive to our first winery. Rooms were very clean and spacious (our closet was huge). They had complimentary wifi for the few mins we needed to check back in at home. Innkeeper Phil made sure our stay was great...he actually called us on our cell phone halfway through our day to make sure we were OK and finding the places we wanted to see.
This is definitely a place we recommend: beautiful setting, complimentary breakfast, very close to some of the best wineries, serene and comfortable.

Room Tip: Upstairs roiom with the private balcony...more space and worth a little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a week's stay at the Spanish Villa Inn in the St. Helena area, and are eager to register our pleasure with Roy Bissember's attentive hospitality, the beauty of the Inn's rooms and grounds, and the staff's assiduous service. We were happy with every aspect of our stay: very comfortable bed, tasty breakfasts, bocce court, room balcony, appealing communal and outdoor spaces for reading, etc. The Spanish Villa Inn is located near the Silverado Trail in some of the Valley's most picturesque country. We enjoyed walking a 3-mile loop from the hotel. We eagerly recommend the Spanish Villa Inn as an excellent compromise between the most expensive and elegant hotels/resorts on one hand and inexpensive, inelegant offerings on the other.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomSchortz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

First time review writers, but seasoned review readers/travelers. We stayed one night at the Spanish Villa Inn on a Wednesday in the middle of a motorcycle trip that marked our 20th Wedding Anniversary. Upon arrival we were greeted by Roy the live in owner/host, who graciously welcomed us to his home. After showing us to our room Roy provided a full tour of the common rooms including a library with piano and common computer with internet access, a living room with TV, a large dining room, a breakfast nook, and another sitting area with comfortable couches. Our room was very clean and had hardy furnishings and a sliding door that walked out onto a private patio/sitting area, the private bath had modern fixtures and a large walk-in closet. After our interior tour Roy invited us to walk the lush grounds where there are welcoming common sitting areas, a full size bocce ball court, and several healthy fruit trees, shrubbery, and flowers of all types.

As nice as the grounds are and as fantastic as the homemade granola for breakfast was, (made by Roy’s wife Barbara), the best part of our stay was the ever present, but never bothersome, host Roy. We highly recommend the Spanish Villa Inn, but could have been staying in cardboard box and would have enjoyed our time as much due to the humor, courtesy, humility, and general kindness of Roy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Staff were lovely, anything you need to know at all just ask.
Studio room spacious and kept clean. We felt very relaxed and welcomed during our stay.Courtyard is beautiful. Very traditional greek styled appartments.Only one fault for me was no spanish music during any of our stay was played and this is something i like on holiday. A bbq was being held after we left. I wish one was held on our week but it may have been a bit too quiet then. I would recommend here to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We enjoyed a very peaceful weekend at the Spanish Villa in Feb., 2012. Roy was attentive to every need and runs a great B and B. I will plan to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.1 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
6.4 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
427 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
525 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rancho Caymus Inn
Rancho Caymus Inn
#2 of 2 in Rutherford
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Villa Inn

Address: 474 Glass Mountain Rd, St. Helena, CA 94574-9534
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: $185 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spanish Villa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spanish Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Villa Hotel St. Helena
Spanish Villa Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing