We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wine, dislike the tasting fee”

Whitehall Lane Winery
Ranked #49 of 116 things to do in St. Helena
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 693 helpful votes
“Excellent wine, dislike the tasting fee”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have a general aversion to tasting fees; I think they are tourist trap rip-offs. At least in Europe, they give you a tour of the facilities and a taste for the reasonable entry fee (always around 5€).
I don't mind paying a reasonable fee to taste your wares, ensuring you don't get ripped-off by drunk profiteers, but 15$ for the privilege of letting you silently scowl at me while I try to extract a smell from the 3 drops of wine your pour into a glass is a little ridiculous.

I digress, despite the insult of a 15$ tasting fee, this wine here is tremendous. If there is any place that you should get reamed into paying a disgraceful tasting fee, at least the wine here softens the blow.

A bottle of the 2010 Napa Valley Merlot costs 28$ plus tax.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stinz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Love to stop here when I am in Napa”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

White Hall Lane is conveniently located on Highway 29 south of St. Helena. They have great wines and the tasting fee is still reasonable compared to so many of the wineries up and down the valley. The quality of the merlots and cabernets is most of the reason why I stop in here. Although not a wine club member, I have been buying their wines for 15 years and have never regretted any of those purchases. No appointment needed for a tasting so I encourage you to stop by for a friendly informal tasting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Pleasant tour and nice wines”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This winery tour includes a quick walk through the crushing room and cooling tanks. The wines are very nice, leaning towards the reds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cattleman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, knowledgeable staff”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The server was helpful and let us try a few wines that were not on the tasting flight. Note that they will waive the tasting fee if you buy some wine. This winery has mostly red wine. I would recommend a stop if you're looking for another winery in Napa.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank twoandtwomakes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Standout Winery Experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was the last stop on our winery tour and one of the best. Very good wines for a reasonable price. Staff was friendly and share a lot interesting wine making information.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitehall Lane Winery also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Whitehall Lane Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing