We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sports/wine lover must!”
Review of Clif Family Winery

Clif Family Winery
Ranked #1 of 3 Nightlife in St. Helena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Velo Vino is a unique tasting room, cycling hub and retail location where the passions of cycling, wine and food are celebrated and blended. At Velo Vino, you can taste Clif Family Wines, enjoy a cheese plate or an espresso drink, and embark on a world-class cycling excursion, all in the heart of Napa Valley.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sports/wine lover must!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

very casual, great service and intresting ties to sports. we arrived and while we were there on the st helena passport (half price) they treated us fabulous. our table was reserved by the fire pit for 8 all ready for us. our server stayed with us the entire time and explained all the history and the vines. he also preparred small pairings for us for each wine. we enjoyed this place it was very casual, and down to earth. nice sport shop on property too....we loved the climber red...with the chocolate almonds....almost all the girls bought a bottle.

Helpful?
1 Thank VCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    11
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
austin, tx
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cycling + Wine = Win Win”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our party of four thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Velo Vino. Two of us are cyclist and spent a lot of time checking out the cycling photos all over the place, as well as some of the cool old and new bikes that were sitting around. Gary (owner and founder) came up to us while we were looking at one of the bikes and introduced himself. We had a very nice time chatting with him, getting the history on the display bikes, some of the photos and of course, the winery/wine making. The wines we tasted were very good and Gary was kind enough to sign the bottle of rte blanc we bought - the picture on the label is him cycling in Italy. Highly recommended for the wine, atmosphere and very friendly staff.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sln1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“nice casual vibe”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We went here the night we got into town because they were open late (6). Really comfortable casual vibe here, affiliated with the Clif family of Clif bars. Some nice wines, average prices. Great photos on the bottles. Helpful & friendly staff. Nice outdoor patio if you want to be out there tasting. I really felt they treated us well. A sporty (biking) theme.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bubbles911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just sit back and sip”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

One of the most laid back tasting experiences we've had in St Helena. After checking out the vintage bikes and great cycling photos, the wine tasting is friendly and unpretentious. We loved Kit's killer cab and the Improv zinfandel. They even sell their own cycling jerseys with an appropriately wine-colored design. If you go for the Maillot Jeune (Yellow Jersey) tasting you even get to try their olive oil and an expresso drink.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SueSigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A different type of wine tasting experience”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I came across Velo Vino when I was looking for things to do for our Napa Trip. The more I read about the place, the more I want to visit in person and see what Clif Family Winery is about, besides making Clif bars.

Velo Vino was our first wine tasting stop and I fell love with the place upon arrival. They are very accommodating to people with an active lifestyle (we ventured into the place with full cycling gear), the staff were also very knowledgeable in wine and how the wine were formulated in the first place. Best of all, we learnt much about Gary and Kit, the owners of the winery, and their adventures.

Their wine have a different spin to what you normally see available. A must try place if you are looking for a different wine tasting experience.

Moreover, thank you for the great bike route recommendations from the store itself. Thank you for sharing your passion of being active and to enjoy life!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clif Family Winery also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Clif Family Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing