We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very welcoming and kind hearted hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Helena

Hotel St. Helena
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Helena
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming and kind hearted hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We did not stay at this hotel, so I'm not able to talk about the room. But we did stop in the lobby and the woman working at the front desk was able to help us out tremendously. She was very accommodating and welcoming despite the fact that we weren't staying at the hotel. The antique decor is charming and the lobby was clean and comfortable. I would book a room at this hotel based only on the way that they treated us as non-guests and welcomed us into their space. Obviously very kind hearted and caring hosts.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    14
    15
    40
See reviews for
11
38
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed here with my friends on our first visit to Napa Valley, and the receptionist was extremely helpful. The hotel is being renovated, and the rooms and bathrooms that have been renovated are really nice. We happened to stay in a room that had not been renovated, and spoke with the receptionist about some of our concerns and they apologized completely and gave us a partial refund, which was great and unexpected. I would recommend this as an affordable place to stay in St.Helena, with a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been renovated, and if you want a private bathroom make sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This wasn't the best hotel we had stayed in during our CA trip but there were some good things about it that should be pointed out. Firstly it is in a great location for dining with two EXCELLENT restaurants just minutes walk away, one just opposite the hotel. This is what you need after a day of wine tasting; somewhere where you don't need to use the car. The gentille ladies who seem to own and run the place are pleasant and helpful and we saw no signs of the grubby carpets etc that some have complained about. Admittedly it was expensive - we paid around USD 120 for a room with shared bathrooms - all that was available - but the bathrooms were always clean and dry and no sign of others using them, although they must have.
The breakfast was much better than most 'motel' style places in USA and the hotel had a calm and quiet air about it. howver, there was a fairly noisy aircon fan outside our window which we asked the landlady to turn off at night, which she did. otherwise we had no real complaints.
If you are there to enjoy the hotel then choose another, but if you are in St Helena to enjoy the region and visit the wineries etc, this place could be ideal.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms obove the side aircon plant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sculthorpe-Pike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Very sparse accomodations for price. i made a mistake and thought I had 3 nights reservation but only had 2 nights. I was touring the valley with business partner when I received a call at about 3 PM indicating i had failed to checkout so everything was gathered from my room and put in a plastic bag behind the counter. Very unprofessional. Only good thing is I had to stay somewhere else that third night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Helena hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

WHO is writing the reviews that say we had a great time here, has to be friends and relatives!!! It was late. We were getting disparate. Most all of the other hotels wanted 350-400 for the night??? This crap hole was 160. we went for it. (they love it when you pay before seeing the room, then smile in delight when they swipe your credit card, and chuckle when they take you up to the room and open the door for you.) Room old, You could almost call it a cell. First...bed check...no bed bugs spotted ...good. Carpet filthy, furniture...garage sale rejects. Hallway smelled like when I visited my father in the retirement home. Keep in mind that they have no staff at this place after 8, you are locked in the place with whoever they let stay there besides yourself, think about it...Leaf blower guy stands outside the window at seven. I do not understand what that area thinks they have that they need to charge such ridiculous prices for everything!? The wine country, Food is high priced, traffic is the worst I have seen. I ask myself why go back...why...why.
In my disgust, after this trip I started drinking beer and coffee...hard cider, I was even once reduced to sipping tea...after that one, my parents disowned me. I have been reduced to taking Viagra in the morning just to stand erect...Anyway this place sucked. Enjoy life elsewhere.

A B&B called Inkhouse wanted to take our reservation over the telephone, but we said we want to see the place first. When we got there it was on the main noisy highway, next to the railroad tracks, looked like the Munsters house from TV???The phone lady had a real attitude.

END

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geethree w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford Mines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We made a reservation, and when we got to check in, the price was higher of what we had already paid with our credit card. The only thing the rude manager offered us was ''no charge for leaving and go get a hotel room somewhere esle'' at the last minute...

Room Tip: Go to El Bonita, half a mile south of St Helena. Clean and a lot more friendly !!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I was warned by previous reviewers but got desperate and stayed here anyway. For over $200 a night this was a serious disappointment. The room was tiny (I couldn't walk around the room after I opened my overnight bag), looked out onto a brick wall, paint was peeling in several spots, there was no night stand next to the bed and thus no lamp next to the bed, lighting from the ceiling lamp was inadequate to read, there was no TV or even a clock radio. I had to stand on the bed to turn on the ceiling fan and it was hot. Opening the window was not an option as the inadequate air conditioner was outside of the window and very loud. The carpet was old and I put towels on the floor for sanitary reasons. The bathroom was "down-the-hall" which I knew ahead of time. For this price, I would have expected a few more amenities especially for "down-the-hall" such as throw away slippers, paper cups in the bathroom, shower items. . . Breakfast consisted of pre-packaged bakery goods and beige coffee. This is a budget hotel with top pricing. And, yes, as other reviewers said, it has a weird feeling. I got up early and couldn't wait to get out. There is no elevator so be prepared to lug your bags up 2 flights of stairs. If it was a deal, I'd put up with the inconveniences but for the price - this hotel is ridiculous. Drive a little further and be more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aissw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
2.1 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#4 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 8 in St. Helena
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helena

Property: Hotel St. Helena
Address: 1309 Main St., St. Helena, CA 94574
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel St. Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Helena CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing