We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good tour, good wines”
Review of Chappellet

Chappellet
Ranked #13 of 116 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of the Napa Valleys hidden treasures. Chappellet Winery sits in the eastern hills of the Napa Valley (an area called Pritchard Hill) and produces some of the world's most compelling Cabernet Sauvignons. The tour and tasting experience at Chappellet is consistenly rated amongst the finest in the region.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, good tour, good wines”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The drive up to the winery is great fun, and beautiful as you drive through woods filled with Spanish Ivy-laden craggy trees. You really have to downshift to get up the hills. The building in which the winery is housed as a beautiful wooden masterpiece. Our guide was Diana. She was knowledgeable, friendly, and accommodating. The wines were good. I would recommend this winery particularly for the setting!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    16
    5
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Views paired with Amazing Wines”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place is a must go! Thank to Candice and her wonderful team for showing us a wonderful time and giving us a perfect tour of the property and the lovely history that went along with it. As much as places like to talk about the wine, its the family that makes the wine that makes it truly special. When your in the valley make sure to stop by Chappellet Winery. Its well worth the drive, but make sure to bring printed directions (cell phones and GPS dont work well in the mountains).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wine_Lover_707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Out of the way and well worth the visit!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Beautiful winding roads take you to this lovely vineyard with the most breathtaking views. The wine is great and the tour is informative. Would love to visit again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Winery”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Diane was our tour guide and she was genuinely amazing. We were the youngest couple in our group and she made us feel welcome. It was our first time in Napa we visited over 25 wineries and at the end of our trip my wife and I decided that this one was our favorite. The wines are excellent and the views are breathtaking. Its an adventure getting there but you wont be disappointed when you arrive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 99yankees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great scenery, wine”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Chappellet is a hidden gem of Napa Valley. I always encourage visitors to the region to explore places off the beaten path; route 29 and the Silverado trail host most of the big guys, and you should definitely pay a visit to places like Mondavi, Krug, Nickel and Nickel, and so on. But the real magic happens in the surrounding hills.

You'll find Chappellet on top of a mountain off Sage Canyon Rd. in St. Helena. You gotta pay attention for the little street to turn off, and wind your way up to the winery, so make sure you keep your eyes peeled as you approach Lake Hennessey.

Once you arrive, you should take a little walk around the property. They have great views, that stretch for miles. When I was there, they were finishing up the construction of their solar panels, and they should be 100% off the grid very soon. I thought that was pretty cool. They are also committed to their organic and sustainable farming practices.

Your tasting will be fairly private and intimate, which is what I like. You'll get to learn much more about the wines you're drinking, the family who makes them, and the surrounding property that way. And as for the wines, they are great. The Pritchard Hill Cab was my favorite, and the Mountain Cuvee was also very tasty.

All said and done, if you want to visit a great, family-owned winery in Napa that has views, great wine, and few crowds, this is it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mmeisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chappellet also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Chappellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing