We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true mountain top experience”
Review of Chappellet

Chappellet
Ranked #16 of 116 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of the Napa Valleys hidden treasures. Chappellet Winery sits in the eastern hills of the Napa Valley (an area called Pritchard Hill) and produces some of the world's most compelling Cabernet Sauvignons. The tour and tasting experience at Chappellet is consistenly rated amongst the finest in the region.
Doylestown
Level Contributor
170 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A true mountain top experience”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

....but you have to climb the mountain first. A very intense mile and a half steep uphill drive, NOT for the faint hearted...but well worth it!
The first mountaintop vineyard with a storybook family history. We won't tell...go yourselves! An organic, solar powered vineyard with tons of bluebirds, the right attitude and incredible, incredible wines.

Helpful?
Thank johnnydogmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    15
    5
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, TX
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our tour of Chappellet was fantastic. Located on a higher elevation, the views were stunning. Candace, our host, was so warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. The wines are wonderful and I would highly recommend this winery to visit. Be sure to call ahead because reservations are required.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Finally made it”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've heard of Chappellet for a while now, but it took me quite a long time to venture up Sage Canyon rd. to find it. There's no sign on the road; simply turn right and start winding up the steep drive for about a mile and you'll find yourself perched atop Pritchard Hill, with some incredible views of the Valley to greet you. As others mentioned, GPS and cell phones don't work, so study the map before you venture up the mountain.

We sat down for an intimate tasting, and were joined by one other couple, which was nice for a change. No fighting for room at the bar, or crowds to wander through. Just us and the wine. And it's good wine - we tried their two cabs, a chardonnay, and Zinfandel. The Pritchard Hill cab was outstanding, while the younger estate cab seemed like it could easily rest a few more years. The Chardonnay was nice and balanced, and the Zinfandel was smooth and fruity without being too fruit-forward. During the tasting you'll learn about the family history, and other nuances of the winery. They are 100% off the grid, powered by a vast array of solar panels, which I thought was impressive.

Overall, this is a great place to visit if you're looking for a mountain winery that has that special something.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mmeisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Located high on the side of the range adjacent to the vineyards with a picturesque view. Great wines, great tour. Only drawback is the current landmoving / construction for their new facitily.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The woodlands,tx
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“1st class tasting and tour!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This winery is off the beaten path and you need to pay close attention to the directions to get there because cell phones don't work nor do gps systems, if you can get past the challenge of finding this winery you are in for one of the best tastings and tours ever. Our tasting and tour was very small group, the tasting was done directly in the wine cellar, they are very thorough in explaining how they started, how there operation works, and lots of other details that I found very interesting. This place is a must do when doing a trip to napa.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chappellet also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Chappellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing