We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Romantic in every way!”
Review of Inn St Helena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn St Helena
Ranked #2 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We recently stayed at the Ambrose Bierce House in St Helena. We came up for a wedding, and decided to stay the entire weekend to enjoy the town and breathtaking scenery. This is my second visit to this BEAUTIFUL town, and love it more and more every time I visit. The hospitality of the inn keepers, Carlos and Jenna, is PHENOMENAL. They are extremely knowledgeable, and have great tips for the surrounding wineries and restaurants. Everything is within walking distance, or a very short drive away. We have only had the priviledge of staying at the Ambrose Bierce House, but look forward to staying at the sister property of Shady Oaks Country Inn. We were able to take a mini tour and just loved it! Did I mention that they serve breakfast? YUMMY!! I think my mouth is still watering from the honeyed grapefruit and the homemade waffles! I felt like I was at home with a personal chef! I have recommended these prpoerties to all of our friends and family, and hope that they have a chance to experience and enjoy this place as much as we have. It is an amazingly romantic home that makes you feel like to never want to leave! They have really defined the true meaning of "rest and relaxation". =) I look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2009

The wife and I booked this B&B for a short-notice one-nighter to the Napa Valley. We stayed in the Ambrose Bierce Suite which consists of a good-sized sitting room, good-sized bathroom and a small bedroom. The place met my first two requirements of very clean and quiet. This was only our third stay at a B&B but the bed was noticeably less soft than the previous two. That is really the only negative thing I can say. On the other hand, the breakfast at Ambrose Bierce beats the other two hands down! We started with fresh berries and bananas topped with a special creme fraiche then onto the best Belgian waffles I've ever had topped with a warm peach compote. These were served with a chicken and apple sausage, which was cooked perfectly. The whole meal was delicious. Ambrose Bierce House is in the center of St. Helena, which for anyone not familiar, is in the center of the Napa Valley. It is a great location with great food and I would not hesitate in recommending this place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Tiny room! No refrigerator, no coffee maker in the room.
No fan in the bath room. Room with thin walls.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

My husband and I just returned from St. Helena and our stay at the Ambrose Bierce House. This was our second visit and it was just as nice as our first. We stayed in the Ambrose Bierce suite which was lovely. Two large rooms with a large bath in between. Lots of storage in the bathroom. Our bedroom was a perfect size. Carlos, the Innkeeper was a wondeul host. Our breakfast was delicious and he gave us a wonderful dinner idea ("Market"). We sat on the upstairs front porch and enjoyed the view. Carlos provided wine in the afternoon from a small local winery. If you're looking for a great B&B, stay here. It's only a short walk to all the downtown resturants and shopping!!!!

Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We stayed at Ambrose Bierce House in the Ambrose Bierce 'suite' in early April. We loved the location and the suite (bedroom and sitting room separated by a large bath room). We used the sitting room as a second bedroom and the sofabed was perfectly comfortable. Loved having a suite with a fireplace, and the complimentary sherry and chocolates at night in your room is a nice touch! Rooms were very comfortable and the house, while small, is pleasant and restful.

John and LIsa were perfect hosts. We had good conversation over the wonderful breakfasts (best I've had in a B&B) and John and LIsa were both very helpful in providing local pointers and recommendations.

One of the strongest points is the location -- we could walk to Beringer and fine restaurants every night. The shops in St. Helena are interesting and fun. I would definitely go back. . .

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAROhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

"We had such a wonderful weekend here! John, the owner, was a gracious host and a fabulous cook. Thanks for making our stay so memorable. We will be back!".

Stayed: September 2007
Thank bewitchd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Everything as promised and then some. Great location and great service!

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Buglafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.3 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
1.8 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#5 of 9 in St. Helena
130 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
529 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn St Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn St Helena

Address: 1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1851 (Formerly Ambrose Bierce House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: $199 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn St Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Napa Valley bed and breakfast! We invite you to experience the romantic charm and "warm and enthusiastic hospitality" of our 1872 Victorian bed and breakfast inn. This California bed and breakfast is in a perfect location... right in the center of the finest wineries of Napa Valley. You can walk to fine and casual dining, historic Beringer Vineyards... and unique shopping in beautiful and quaint downtown St. Helena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn St Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Bierce House Hotel St. Helena
Inn St Helena St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing