We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint accommodations in a perfect location!”
Review of Inn St Helena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn St Helena
Ranked #2 of 13 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint accommodations in a perfect location!”
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We stayed at Ambrose Bierce House in the Ambrose Bierce 'suite' in early April. We loved the location and the suite (bedroom and sitting room separated by a large bath room). We used the sitting room as a second bedroom and the sofabed was perfectly comfortable. Loved having a suite with a fireplace, and the complimentary sherry and chocolates at night in your room is a nice touch! Rooms were very comfortable and the house, while small, is pleasant and restful.

John and LIsa were perfect hosts. We had good conversation over the wonderful breakfasts (best I've had in a B&B) and John and LIsa were both very helpful in providing local pointers and recommendations.

One of the strongest points is the location -- we could walk to Beringer and fine restaurants every night. The shops in St. Helena are interesting and fun. I would definitely go back. . .

  • Liked — the hosts, the breakfasts and of course, the location!
  • Disliked — The house would not be good for those with disabilities -- steps and tub access are not for those with any physical limitiations
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAROhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    34
    10
    15
    6
See reviews for
23
139
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2008

"We had such a wonderful weekend here! John, the owner, was a gracious host and a fabulous cook. Thanks for making our stay so memorable. We will be back!".

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank bewitchd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Everything as promised and then some. Great location and great service!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Buglafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Carlos, the innkeeper, was absolutely superb! He went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay so enjoyable. The sit-down breakfast were fabulous. Especially the maple rum bananas.....they are to die for. He definitely made our first B & B experience a memorable one. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Napa. Thanks again for the wonderful recommendations and for going out of the way to make all the guests feel at home and welcomed.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank sacha2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

Carlos. works hard for his guests. He exceeded our expectations with both breakfasts. I personally appreciated his amiable style. Thanks for a lovely stay!"

  • Liked — Breakfasts!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubasiren54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2008

" This was a very beautiful place to stay for a birthday, everything was wonderful. Cozy room and great homemade breakfast! Good luck with your business plans Carlos, you're a great Innkeeper."

  • Liked — Incredible Hospitality
  • Disliked — The bed could have been a bit softer!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RUI73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2008

We had a fantastic time at the Ambrose Bierce House. It is very small but rather quaint. We stayed in the room with the canopy bed ~ every little girls dream!! Very comfortable bed, close to downtown and cozy. We were alerted of the "alerts" in the early AM but were sleeping so soundly, we did not hear them. We would definitely stay there again!!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank TravelinTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.3 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
1.8 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
8.9 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,286 reviews
17.5 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn St Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn St Helena

Property: Inn St Helena
Address: 1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1851 (Formerly Ambrose Bierce House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn St Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Napa Valley bed and breakfast! We invite you to experience the romantic charm and "warm and enthusiastic hospitality" of our 1872 Victorian bed and breakfast inn. This California bed and breakfast is in a perfect location... right in the center of the finest wineries of Napa Valley. You can walk to fine and casual dining, historic Beringer Vineyards... and unique shopping in beautiful and quaint downtown St. Helena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn St Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Bierce House Hotel St. Helena
Inn St Helena St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing