We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They canceled my reservations and left me hanging”
Review of Inn St Helena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn St Helena
Ranked #2 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Los gatos, CA
18
Reviewed July 22, 2003

I made a reservation on the internet for a stay at this hotel in August. I made the reservation in July. After They had charged my credit card for the full price ( I still do not have my money back ) The owner call about ten days later and informed me that they would not honor the reservation. I am left without a room now and no money. I would never stay ( or try and stay ) at this hotel as long as I live.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 22, 2003

This reviewer is mistaken about his reservation. His reservation was made online through Travelocity. While he was making his reservation we received a phone call requesting the same room on the same night. When we received his email for the reservation we called him immediately to let him know what had happened. We offered to do our best to find a nice room for him but he refused our help. His money was refunded in full the same day. It is simply amazing to me how some people are so intolerant to unexpected problems that occure. John Runnells Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Inn St Helena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 217 of 217 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Discovery Bay, CA
112
Reviewed April 20, 2003

We recently stayed in the Ambrose Bierce Suite. I drove past it the first time, looking for something a little more grand or isolated. It looks just like most other houses on the street. The bedroom is exactly like the picture. What it doesn't show is that the room is no larger than the picture. That by itself is not a problem due to the private sitting room on the other side of the bathroom. However, the offer to "Draw your bath in an.oh so private six foot Jacuzzi tub for two..." was impossible for us. I tried on two separate occasions to fill the tub with hot water. There wasn't enough hot water available. By the way, there is no shampoo or conditioner provided. They claim to serve the "best full gourmet champagne breakfast in the Napa Valley", "complete with Eggs Benedict, Belgian Waffles, or stuffed French toast; fresh fruits; our home-baked breads and croissants; a selection of premium teas, coffee, fresh juice and champagne..." It is a one-time sitting at 9:00. There is no choice of what you eat, only whether or not you eat. We had strawberries and bananas with a cream sauce, one small mimosa, a very good croissant, and eggs benedict. I don't know if the eggs benedict was any good, because I don't like it. The thermostat is located in the common parlor. This provides no independent control over the temperature in your room. You can open the windows for air, but you get the noise from Hwy. 29 (Main St.). I felt like we were staying with relatives in a spare bedroom. For $310 (incl. tax), I expected more.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 16, 2004

I am truly sorry this guest was not happy at our B & B. WE do our best to make sure that we do not misslead any of our guests. We never claimed to be a grand house or isolated. We are on Main St. in downtown St. Helena. We also never informed this guest that his room was extra large. It is very comfortable size with a queen canopy bed. The sitting area is on the other side of the bath and is very comfortable with a couch, fireplace and T.V. I do apologize to this guests for the hot water problem. We have two water heaters and one was out for a couple of days on the weekend. Our breakfast is a one seating breakfast because we do serve a full sit down breakfast not a buffet. You can have all the champagne you want and I'm sorry the guests did not like Eggs Benedict. However if they would have asked we would have been to happy to prepare something else for them.
I believe this guest was looking for something that we are not and do not claim to be. We are a beautifull B & B in the heart of the Napa Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dar2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank nisco76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Fany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.3 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
0.5 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
159 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
222.8 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
744 reviews
8.9 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn St Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn St Helena

Address: 1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1851 (Formerly Ambrose Bierce House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: $230 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn St Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Napa Valley bed and breakfast! We invite you to experience the romantic charm and "warm and enthusiastic hospitality" of our 1872 Victorian bed and breakfast inn. This California bed and breakfast is in a perfect location... right in the center of the finest wineries of Napa Valley. You can walk to fine and casual dining, historic Beringer Vineyards... and unique shopping in beautiful and quaint downtown St. Helena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn St Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Bierce House Hotel St. Helena
Inn St Helena St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing