We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy B&B In a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shady Oaks Country Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My girlfriends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shady Oaks. The owner John was extremely genuine and willing to take time out to offer input on restaurants, vineyards, and other activities. He was also great company during the wine and cheese hour. We enjoyed getting to know other guests during the delicious champagne breakfasts as well. This is definitely the way to go while in Napa valley, and Shady Oaks is in a GREAT location. I am glad we found it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 185 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our stay at Shady Oaks was fantastic. It was recommended to us by Napa locals for a Labor Day trip (one of the busiest weekends in Napa), but it didn't feel busy or crowded. The Inn is clean, cozy, friendly, and hospitable. Prior to our trip, the owners were a great help with dinning recommendations and wineries to visit in our price range. We loved our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brinkyshmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Shady Oaks was recommended to us by a Napa Valley local for our girls trip over Labor Day weekend. It was the perfect spot for our group of five. We stayed in the Sunny Hideaway and they even had an extra bed added to accommodate our group. The breakfast was amazingly delicious (I'm still dreaming about those homemade warm croissants!) and it is the perfect way to set you up for a day of wine tasting. The wine and cheese in the evenings is also a nice touch and a fun way to get to know your fellow guests. John was an excellent resource who knows the valley inside and out and can help you plan your trip no matter what your goals, budget, etc. The location is perfect as well - we rented bikes one day and were able to ride everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

For a girls weekend getaway to Napa Valley, we were looking for something affordable, had nice perks, and were able to accomodate 4 adults. We stayed in the Sunny Hideaway room, which had a private entrance, 2 queen beds and 1 bathroom. The beds were very comfy, coffee and wine was available in the room. The rooms have an older decor, but fitting for an older B&B and Napa charm. Our room also had a tv with plenty of cable channels to choose from. Since we traveled in August, prices were at a premium for other places, and this place was really a great value. We received breakfast each morning, our host Hope, was so delighful - it was like having a Mom on hand if you needed anything. She even gave us an option of what we would like for breakfast one morning. :) The B&B is located in the heart of St. Helena, within a short driving distance from many wineries and restaurants. We had our breakfast in the outside patio, which is makes you feel like you are stepping into a Tuscan garden. It's beautiful, and makes you feel relaxed and truly on vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristin-tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Shady Oaks on the first night of our honeymoon. We loved it!! John and his staff did a wonderful job of making us feel welcome and the service -- and services -- were excellent. Convenient location in the center of Napa Valley; very comfortable room and bed. The breakfast was incredible - fresh, hot croissants and eggs benedict to die for! Definitely recommended and we will stay here again on our next trip to Napa Valley. Thanks, John!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatCoalson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We felt at home as soon as we entered the house. The inn was surrounded by vineyards which gave a good feel of the Wine Country. It was within minutes of the major wineries and restaurants, no long drives from Napa. Being situated on a smaller road that ran between the two major avenues, the nights were absolutely quiet and free of auto traffic. The room and bathroom were small but comfortable. Breakfasts were terrific. On warm mornings they were served on an outdoor patio with a full view of the vineyards. All in all the stay was first rate and one that I would gladly repeat on my next visit to Napa.

Room Tip: All four rooms are very desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Lisa was very helpful as we made our booking decision with another couple--disappointed that we never met her once there, though, as she was delightful on the phone. We booked the separate back house with upstairs and downstairs apartments. Room was comfortable and the coffeemaker set up to brew a nice pot of coffee every morning was a very nice touch. Breakfasts were delicious and the wine and cheese at 5 was another special touch, giving all of the guests a chance to meet and visit. Only complaint was housekeeping--the trash was overflowing but not emptied (including the coffee grounds from the morning coffee)...not nice to walk into the room and see that.
Location was good--though I recommend avoiding the wineries on the main drag and head over to the road that runs parallel (can't recall the name!)...much less crowded.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b1brownfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

I am so very sorry about the house keeping problem That is unacceptable and should never happen. I hope you will forgive us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay even with the trash problem. Come and see us again and we will make up for the mistake.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
1.9 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
161 reviews
7.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,071 reviews
6.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Oaks Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Oaks Country Inn

Address: 399 Zinfandel Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-1635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: $233 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shady Oaks Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the warmth and romance of Shady Oaks Country Inn secluded on two acres nestled among some of the finest Wineries and restaurants in Napa Valley. Relax and enjoy the elegant ambiance, the wine country tranquility and our cozy amenities during your stay. Shady oaks Country Inn offers the hospitality of a bed and breakfast along with first class amenities like romantic fireplaces, flat screen satellite television free Wifi and a full champagne breakfast. Our goal at Shady oaks Country Inn is to offer you the finest combination of luxury, hospitality and history. To enhance your stay, we serve full champagne breakfasts and premium Napa wines and cheeses each evening on the Roman pillared patio. Awaken to the Inn's own blend of coffee and our breakfast complete with Eggs Benedict, Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, our home baked breads, fresh baked croissants, fresh juice and champagne. After spending your day exploring the beautiful Napa Valley vineyards, we invite you to browse through our collection of restaurant menus that include fine dining and casual restaurants. We are more than happy to make recommendations and reservations for you! Book a stay with us at Shady Oaks Country Inn, and experience the perfect blend of luxury and comfort in Napa Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Shady Oaks Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shady Oaks Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Shady Oaks Country Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing