We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bale Grist Mill State Historic Park

Bale Grist Mill State Historic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Trolley and Castle Tour
Ranked #31 of 113 things to do in St. Helena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1846, this water-powered mill served Napa Valley's farmers who brought their wheat grain and dried corn to the mill to be ground into flour and meal. Bale Grist Mill has one of the largest waterwheels in the country and still mills grain the old-fashioned way! Visitors can take home organic wheat flour, cornmeal or polenta. Come enjoy what was once a vital part of rural life!
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
505 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a great step back in time to see how production of foodstuffs was done in the bygone era. A great lesson in how work, manual labor, was needed to provide foodstuffs.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalclear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johnston Atoll
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THE BEST place to visit with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Jim is amazing and gives an outstanding presentation. Kids are included and encouraged to use the equipment to help them get something out of this visit. It is fascinating to watch them make polenta, flour, and cornmeal. At the end you even can buy some of the flour that is made on the site. It's a labor of love, since our stupid government decided they are not in the business of preserving our history, now these amazing volunteers come every weekend and show us how it's all done. Definitely worthwhile - a lot cheaper than the stupid geyser and this is unquestionably real.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bellotheball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, wa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“wonderful and educational visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

When you get enough of visiting all those wineries or if you are interested in history, then this is really a place that you should visit. We did it, without really knowing what it would be and thought it would take us maybe 20 minutes. The tour took 2 hours. The miller was such an enthusiastic person that he kept on talking.. and not in a boring way at all. after this visit you know everything about milling grain, corn etc and how a mill gets his energy from the big wheel outside.
And it is all thanks to that informative and pleasant way the miller talks.
I really recommend it even though it cost $5 each person. They don't get money from the government, so you help to keep the mill alive too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdwardMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media,PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fun and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We started our morning here had a great tour of the mill then beautiful hike. Just keep in mind that this is rattlesnake country. Be respectful and you'll have a great time. Besides after a great hike a wine tasting is perfect.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMushrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anahuac, TX
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“DON'T MISS THIS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We found this little gem while driving from St Helena to Calistoga. You can see the mill right off Hwy 29. After parking in the parking lot there is a nice little walk....about 1/4 mile...through some trees, crossing a bridge over a creek, then you find the mill. It's an awesome sight. The water wheel is 34 ft tall. The Miller's tour is fantastic. There's a little gift shop, too. The mill is open Sat and Sun and only costs $5 each. Kids are $2. We loved our time there and bought some flour. The Spelt made some yummy pancakes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank misspat621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bale Grist Mill State Historic Park also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bale Grist Mill State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing