We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile!”
Review of V. Sattui Winery

V. Sattui Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Napa Wine Tour From San Francisco with Castello Di Amorosa Including Lunch
Ranked #3 of 116 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: V. Sattui Winery is a family-owned property located in the heart of Napa Valley, which was founded in 1885 and makes more than 60 different wines with dozens of 90+ point rated wines among its current vintages. It is a stunning, must-see Napa Valley destination for picnics, weddings and events, offering an impressively robust Cheese Shop with more than 200 selections, an excellent Deli directed by Chef Gerardo Sainato, and a Salumeria directed by Stefano Masanti. The sprawling estate includes two-dozen picnic tables nestled beneath ancient Valley Oak trees and tri-level terraces that overlook beautifully manicured gardens and vineyards.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Service with a smile!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

For those of you looking for the best service and friendly treatment, this is the place. My wife and I look for places to visit when we come to town that are not your typical fare at our local hometown wine purveyors. We were pleasantly surprised during our visit and will not hesitate sharing our experience with others.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    417
    145
    57
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Classic Winery Experience”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

V Sattui is one of my favorite wineries in Napa Valley. Their wines are excellent, the place is beautiful and each visit is an experience. Their winemaker has been named "Winemaker of the Year" by the 2013 SF Wine Competition - so yes, their wines actually are "something special".

They can be very crowded, especially on weekends, but there's a reason they are crowded - Sattui is an experience that many people want when imagining a visit to a Napa Valley winery.

They are centrally located in the Valley and do not require an appointment for tastings. They have picnic tables and excellent gourmet foods (tons of cheeses!) to purchase in their old world style deli. Their wine list is crowd pleasing with over 60 very well made wines to choose from - yes I said sixty.

Yes, many Napa wineries focus on Cabernet and do very well. Yes, Dean and Deluca is nearby if you want to step up your gourmet game. Yes are there are secluded, lonely winery tasting rooms you can visit by appointment only.

If you want to experience a fun, friendly and relaxed Italian family winery and deli with a large, classic tasting room full of dozens of well made wines, this place is for you!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DELI AND WINE”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Everything at the deli was great! bought sandwiches, deli meats of all kinds, a cake, and cheese. They have some of the best desserts wines! Will be coming back to this place and enjoy the out doors

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank eve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Have a picnic”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our visit was nice, tasted and joined their club, purchased 3 bottles, in the $20-30 range. Bought some crab cakes and snacks for picnic outside. Great store, but Dean & Deluca across the street beats them hands down.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TandR4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We went here on a weekday and it wasn't the usual crowded place. We had a calm tasting room and had a person helping us with the wines continuously. He knew his wines pretty well and helped us understand more. No rush and pushing! Perfect experience. The deli, cheeses and a picnic area outside were add-ons to this place! :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank VV009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed V. Sattui Winery also viewed

 

Been to V. Sattui Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing