We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of V. Sattui Winery

V. Sattui Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Napa Wine Tour From San Francisco with Castello Di Amorosa Including Lunch
Ranked #3 of 116 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: V. Sattui Winery is a family-owned property located in the heart of Napa Valley, which was founded in 1885 and makes more than 60 different wines with dozens of 90+ point rated wines among its current vintages. It is a stunning, must-see Napa Valley destination for picnics, weddings and events, offering an impressively robust Cheese Shop with more than 200 selections, an excellent Deli directed by Chef Gerardo Sainato, and a Salumeria directed by Stefano Masanti. The sprawling estate includes two-dozen picnic tables nestled beneath ancient Valley Oak trees and tri-level terraces that overlook beautifully manicured gardens and vineyards.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Loved our experience here. Came on a wine tour bus but if you're travelling solo I'd suggest spending most of your day tasting here and having a picnic lunch on their beautiful grounds with some of the delicious cheeses and desserts from their deli. Tastings are $10 for 6 tastings and they have tons of wine to choose from. Our taster was very helpful and even gave us a few extra tastings of their speciality the Angelica and another one I forget the name of. I couldn't resist, I bought a bottle of the Angelica. It's like liquid gold! My mom was kicking herself after for not getting a bottle. These wines are only sold at the winery so it's worth the trip!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    899
    425
    149
    59
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Charming Place for Saturday Afternoon Wine Tasting & Picnic”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Marvelous place in St. Helena for Saturday Afternoon Wine Tasting & Picnic. Thoroughly enjoyed the red wine flights! We picked out gourmet cheeses, baguette, and salad for a picnic. V. Sattui wine consultants knowledgeable, make lovely conversation, and a great way to spend an afternoon. We purchased a variety of wines that were shipped to our home and arrived in perfect condition. Great value and ambiance. Well Done!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Codatrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great introduction to napa valley”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Visited V. Sattui winery on a saturday afternoon on a trip from San Francisco. A friend recommended this winery, and loved it! Would definitely try and get there early as there were a lot of people and may be hard to find parking.

Winery has a deli/marketplace that sells really delicious food to enjoy with the wine, and really lovely grounds for a picnic. The day that we went, they were also having a BBQ.

The tasting room itself was impressive. Did the 5 wine tasting for $10 and enjoyed the different wines. Bought 3 different wines to bring home. The winery sells packaging and shipping boxes to take the bottles home, which was so convenient.

I would definitely visit this winery again on my next trip to Napa.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank g10betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“always a great place to stop”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

have been enjoying wines from Satui for some time and it is always a great place to stop, I stopped by on Saturday and it was busy but the staff made time for each of us and our individual tastes. Try the barrel tastings and purchase some futures, you can't go wrong. Ship it home. They were running a BBQ and after tasting I tried the tri tip on a roll with BBQ sauce and potato salad. It was very good.

Hint: Before you go, become a member of their cellar club and enjoy the private tasting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, GA
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Unusual, very enjoyable combination of wine tasting, outstanding deli sandwiches/salads, & beautiful picnic grounds”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

On our 3rd day of touring Wine Country, my wife & I had Sunday lunch 11/10 at V. Sattui Winery, which is unique in its combination of wine tasting, deli, & picnic grounds. The place was so crowded it was hard to find a parking space. Crowds were everywhere, including lots of small kids, & everyone smiling, having a great time.

We began our visit with a premium wine tasting in the jam-packed wine tasting room. Our server was personable, but hard pressed to keep up with the couples at his 4 tasting stations. Despite Napa's reputation for red wines, we thought the chardonnay was fantastic & a perfect pairing for what we envisioned for our picnic - & we were right! :)

The deli was outstanding in its range of selections, visual appeal, & what we discovered about the food quality. We put together our picnic & then found a perfect spot outside with two benches around an upside-down, 1/2-barrel that served as a table beneath a large, leafy tree. Weather at 1 PM was perfect: sunny & warm. We enjoyed every bit of our food: our chardonnay, brie with truffles on crackers, an exceptional lamb sandwich, beet salad, & fabulous Thai noodles/salad.

We highly recommend this very different winery experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed V. Sattui Winery also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to V. Sattui Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing