We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Pride Mountain Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 117 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Pride Mountain Vineyards specializes in Red Wine production, mainly Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. The property is only open for wine tasting appointments to adult guests with a prior appointments. In compliance of our local codes and use-permits all appointments must be made in advance of arrival. Thank you, Pride Mountain Vineyards
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful vineyards I've visited in California wine country. The drive there, on winding mountain roads, is very worth it. Our tour was fun and educational. We were fortunate enough to visit on a day when we were allowed to take a horse-drawn wagon out into the vines as part of our tour. They also have some picnic spots with breathtaking views.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Urbanfarmchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    35
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Remarkable views, great wines & an outstanding tour.”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Pride Mountain Vineyards has remarkable views, great wines and an outstanding educational tour/tasting program. It is winery that you really must visit!

If you are a wine drinker who is serious about learning, Pride Mountain should be near the top of the Napa Valley wineries to visit. Pride Mountain Vineyards is one of the best known wineries in the Spring Mountain AVA in Napa Valley. Appointments are required but can easily be made over the Internet or by phone. The tasting is a very reasonable $10 per person which they credit toward a purchase. A great place for a picnic, the grounds has an incredible view of Napa and Sonoma Valleys and, when clear, other counties as well. (The vineyard and buildings straddle the two counties and they will show you where the dividing line is at the winery.)

They provide a tour with barrel tastings that is not to be missed, thanks to Jason who is a certified sommelier and really knows a lot about wines. Jason was very friendly, down to earth and helpful and is the ultimate in "wine educators." We learned more about wine visiting Pride than we have visiting dozens of other wineries.

Our tasting began with the 2010 Viognier ($42). This had a wonderful aroma, with lush fruit and perfect balance. It's a soft, fruity white wine that everybody should like and would be perfect for summer sipping. After this, we were given a tour with some cab barrel tastings and taught about the importance of clones and wine blending. One thing that really impressed us was the huge difference between two different cab clones grown in the same area. In this instance, Jason had chosen two that perfectly complimented each other. Both were quite lacking by themselves, the first being angulated with good fruit but nothing else. The other lacked ripe fruit but had good acid and tannin. Combining the two made a far superior Cab. I've experienced and read about how this is done with Cabs, blending in Merlot, Malbec, Petit Verdot and Cab Franc. And most of us know about blending cabs from different AVAs to complement each other. But this was the first time I experienced (by tasting) the importance of using different clones of the same varietal in blending.

We returned to the tasting room and had a very nice 2009 Syrah ($60). This has 1% Viognier added. The aroma seemed more plum like with some of the usually Syrah spiciness, but if you expect an Australian type fruit bomb Syrah, you will be pleasantly surprised not to find that here. Sure it had great fruit but it was not excessive or unbalanced. For me this was exactly how a really good Syrah should taste. The 2008 Merlot at only $28 is a super bargain. In addition to the Merlot, it has 10% Cab and 9% Syrah. The aroma is to die for, with its full ripe cherry. With balanced acids and tannins, sumptuous fruit, layers of interesting flavors and sub flavors and a good finish, this is a Merlot to love and a "must buy" even if you don't make it to the winery. It is one of the best Merlots I've ever tasted and it is so well balanced and integrated that it should appeal even to people who usually prefer white wines and tend to shy away from really big red wines. This delightful Merlot was followed by the 2009 Cab ($68) which is a blend of Napa and Sonoma cabs, with 11% Merlot and 4% Petit Verdot added. It is aged for 19 months in French oak. This has a rich mouthfeel of ripe fruit with nicely balanced acid and tannin and layers of flavor. It is so rich and sumptuous that one almost feels decadent for drinking it. It is very drinkeable now but obviously has everything in it to cellar nicely should you want to put some age on it. We really liked all the wines we tasted but the Merlot and Cab really stuck out. BTW if they offer you some Mistelle de Viogner at the end, take them up on it even if you don't usually like sweet dessert wines. I believe this is made from Viogner and brandy. It is not at all cloyingly sweet but refreshing instead.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TJJones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“passion”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I have been to Napa before and this time we wanted to be off the beaten path. We always wanted to know what was beyond St Helena highway so we looked up tripadvisor reviews on vineyards. NOTE to those who have never been here (and this was my 4th time and only now I realize) st Helena is diiferent from napa which is different from napa valley - this helps with hotel choices. We decided to drive up the mointain to see pride vineyards since it received amazing reviews. Well deserved! We went without an appointment thinking we might not be able to taste but at least we will see amazing views. We got there and Jay took care of us. Not only were views amazing but he took us on a mini tour of the caves and taught us so much. I learned more from him then the previous 3 trips I've taken before. Clean, fragrant wine and amazing staff. Thank you Jay, you made us feel welcomed and you can sense his passion, he didn't have to do what he did. Great vineyard, a must.see!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank anjali_anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Cal.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“In the hills”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The setting is spectaluar high in the hills overlooking Napa and Sonoma.
Bring a picnic lunch and sit under their oak trees looking over the valley.
By the way, their wines are superb - good enough to be served in the White house for the last 12 years.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Flapsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“This is one winery you don't want to miss!!”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Our tour/tasting here was absolutely a joy! Our guide was probably the friendliest and most knowledgable person I have ever encountered. Gave us some great tips for the Sonoma tour we were taking the next day. We were able to get into the Cave and see where everything is procressed. The picnic tables up on the hill about 500 yds from the main building maybe one of the most picturesque sights in the valley!!! My only disappointment was MY scheduling. I made this my last Napa stop of the day and it should have been mid day lunch. I suggest you take some sandwiches and cheese/crackers along with a bottle of wine from the vineyard and enjoy yourself because it's beautiful! Nice gift shop too!
IMPORTANT NOTE: plan on extra time to find the winery and get up the mountain because it takes time (20 minutes) once you turn off the main road out of town! This is a must see.....my 2nd favorite tour tasting in California.

Helpful?
1 Thank rfamily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pride Mountain Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Pride Mountain Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing