We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Will Never Want to Leave!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“You Will Never Want to Leave!!!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2006

We loved every second of the 3 days we spent at the Wine Country Inn!! We were with another couple and we had a suite with a patio as well as a traditional room.

The rooms are nicely decorated (recently updated & not as "country" as some of the pics on their site). They were very clean and spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. When you arrive you are greeted by very polite staff and a speedy check-in. Each room has a Welcome gift bag on the bed filled with 2 Wine Country Inn wine glasses, a very nice wine bottle opener, & some other snacks & nicknacks including a map of the area, and an envelope full of free &/or Reserve tastings at approx. 15 different wineries.

The Inn is located just about 1.5 miles from Rt. 29, but it is far enough away to be secluded and quiet. Everyday between 4:30 & 6:30 they have a different winery come in to do tastings and they serve both hot & cold hors duorves including crudite, cheese & crackers, bread & dipping oil, chips & dip, apple smoked sausage, etc, followed up with homemade chocolate chip cookies. It's a nice way to mingle with the other guests after visiting all of the wineries and before deciding where to eat dinner. There is also a large basket full of the various menus for restaurants throughout Napa Valley & the staff is always available for recommendations & to help make reservations.

Breakfast at the Inn is homemade & very refreshing. As previous reviews have mentioned there is usually an omelette or egg dish, various cereals, bagels & english muffins, fresh baked breads, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, ice water, etc. You can enjoy your food inside or on the patio. There is also a large fridge full of water, juice, and soda available throughout the day and night.

The pool is one of the best features of this Inn. It is set apart from the main house and has beautiful landscaping on 1 side and a vineyard on the other. Each day we bought a bottle (or 2) of wine to enjoy by the pool in the late afternoon. The water is the perfect temperature and it never gets too crowded.

We will never stay anywhere else in Napa!!!

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Tips/Secrets — While at the vineyards be sure to buy a bottle of wine to enjoy by the pool in the late afternoon
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SammyRaeHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    149
    38
    25
    4
See reviews for
65
743
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2006

We've stayed at this beautiful inn twice in the past year. Our first visit was a wonderful 5 night stay. Our room (#12) was lovely. It had a window seat and was good size. The view from our balcony included vineyards, olive trees and flowers. The grounds were incredible. The staff was wonderful - friendly and helpful, especially with restaurants and wineries. The food was delicious. We enjoyed bringing our breakfast up to our balcony and taking our afternoon wine and appetizers to the pool. A plus is that you can enjoy the pool and hot tub under the stars up until 11pm. They seem to have thought of everything, including a step stool and fly swatter in the closet, in addition to an iron and full-length mirror.
When the question arose of where we should go on our following vacation, we couldn't help but return to this wonderful inn, making that 2 visits within 4 months. Why? - warm staff who make you feel at home, beautiful surroundings, extremely comfortable accomodations, great food. Our second visit we stayed 4 nights in #23 which has a fireplace and private patio with hot tub and vineyard view. We loved it. They really know how to run an inn here. We hope to return again and again.

Helpful?
12 Thank iaatf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

My husband I and I just returned from a relaxing weekend at the Wine Country Inn where we celebrated our first anniversary. The service was excellent in every respect. The Inn has many thoughtful touches and wonderful food. The linens were fresh and of a very high quality. Our room was immaculate. The pool was perhaps the greatest feature. It was probably about 85 degrees, with a beautiful view. The landscaping of the inn is gorgeous.

My only criticism of the Inn was the acoustics. Granted, we had perhaps the least expensive room available, #5. But for $300 a night, I would have liked a bit more privacy in terms of noise. We were awoken at 6am by the upstairs neighbors, not so pleasant. We could also hear them snoring at night, using the restroom, their voices and every footfall. This was when using earplugs! My husband heard the neighbors accross the hall in a (ahem) private moment when he used the restroom in the middle of the night. This was a disappointment because the Inn is off the beaten path and deliciously quiet. I highly recommend to anyone staying at the Inn to spend a bit more to get a second floor room. If you opt for a lower priced room, you may want to keep in mind that you should be quiet for the sake of your own privacy...

Chef Guy provided exceptional service. Juan drove us into town in the Inn's taxi. He was also a standout among the staff.

Bob the cat spent the night with us. He is a real character.

Overall, a special place. We will definitely go back when we can afford the top floor!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ekalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2006

My husband and I stayed at The Wine Country Inn for 3 days for our first wedding anniversary. We were in room 23, which is one of their mid-priced rooms, but not a cottage. I highly recommend it. We had our own private hot-tub outside and a patio that overlooked the vineyards. The location feels isolated, but is very close to St. Helena and lots of GREAT wineries. The best part is that it isn't in the middle of the town. We have previously stayed here in The Sunny Cottage, which I must say is fabulous, but it comes with a heftier pricetag. If you are spluging, it is worth it. It is true that you may find some more economical bed and breakfast places in town, but they can't compare with the service and the location. The breakfast is good, plenty to fill you up and I disagree with one reviewer who said the coffee is weak. True, there are no TVs, but why would you come to the heart of the wine country to sit in your room and watch TV? We had a great time. I should alsdo mention Bob the Cat. He is the mascot of the Inn and even spent some time with us in our room while we played Scrabble. A great "romantic getaway" place.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CAWinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 19, 2006

Wine Country Inn is the premier destination "off the world". The rooms, the staff, the service, the views, the breakfasts, the wine and finger food service(every day, not just weekends!!), the lush gardens, and the tranquility all add up to an outstanding experience. Whether romance, quiet retreat, re-connection, chill-out, relaxing, or any other renewal sensation you wish to find, find your way to the Wine Country Inn. It is journey you will take over and over again! If you love space with all the luxury amenities, don't miss the over the top cottages.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2006

After many visits to Napa, Wine Country Inn has so far provided the best accommodations. We were fortunate enough to stay in one of the cottages. The bathrooms were truly decadent, love the Bose speakers pumping throughout the residence and the very private patio overlooking the vineyard (what more can you ask?). Location location location! Close enough to some of our favorite wineries in the Northern Valley, but so wonderfully quiet and intimate. Everyone was delightfully hospitable and referred us to a great limo service - Magnum Tours. Get back in time for happy hour! They pour great juice and tasty snax!! Don't miss this gem!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrandCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2006

We couldn't find a more friendly lovely spot for a Napa vacation! The entire staff went out of their way to make us feel at home! It was actualy better than home! We had sumptuous breakfasts every morning and delightful wine tastings every evening. The food was so good and so abundant that we skipped a couple dinners in the valley.
I would recommend this fantastic inn without any hesitations!!!
They even sent our wine purchases home for us and the shipment arrived promptly and safely.

Helpful?
3 Thank beatybock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,286 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,949 reviews
11.1 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing