We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place to stay in Napa Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A charming place to stay in Napa Valley”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Very nice bed and breakfast near St Helena. We stayed at the Wine Country Inn 4 days with our 2 children. We had a very nice cottage, with a sofa and fireplace side, a corner for the kids bed, a very confortable bathroom and a terrace with a great view on the wine yard. We felt the value for money was very good, nice service, free wifi and convenient shuttle to get to St Helena restaurants in the evening. We also did enjoy the swimming pool and the breakfast food is really good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G2SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    151
    39
    25
    5
See reviews for
67
751
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had a wonderful 3 day stay at the Wine Country Inn. What an amazing place! Check-in was very quick and easy. We had a lovely cottage with plenty of room and spacious bathrooms. Our cottage was private with a lovely courtyard so much nicer than a sparse hotel room. The breakfasts were delicious and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly - nothing was a bother. I would highly recommend as a place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24682013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

The staff is very helpful with any question or wish. Set in a vineyard with gorgeous views, luxurious accommodations and a shuttle to restaurants, this is a perfect place to stay while touring Napa. The Inn cursion was a fun and educational way to visit different vineyards. Our guide, Tracey, knew about different vineyards and special wines made by each. We hope to return soon.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days. Cute room, reminded me of a British b n b. Granola is yummy. Evening wine and snacks and breakfast were great. Pool was nice but construction was going on beside it... Not that quiet. Great place to stay to explore Napa from. Wineries all around and the gardens are beautiful to walk around and have morning coffee. I'd stay there again. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NicoleRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Wine Country Inn. The location offered a somewhat secluded spot, yet minutes from great wine and food. The staff was outstanding and willing to help with any needs. The morning breakfasts were just right, and a great way to begin the day. We had a terrific room with a private patio and hot tub. We're looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Brian, thanks for the kind words about your recent stay. We do feel that our location (the vineyard setting, 50 wineries within 5 miles, close to the nearby restaurants, etc.) makes an ideal "starting point" for anyone wanting to fully experience Napa Valley. Cheers, and we hope to see you both again soon.

Tim Polk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We just returned from a 4 day stay to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We have previously stayed in the south end of the valley, nearer to Napa. In comparison, the location of the WCI was wonderful, and much quieter than the nicer hotels in Napa. Also, it provides great access to Yountville, St. Helena, Calistoga - and very easy access to the Silverado trail to avoid the busy afternoon traffic through Yountville and St. Helena. The room was quite nice, and very roomy. My wife and I both commented that it was as clean as any hotel/BB room we can remember staying in - and we appreciated the hardwood floors leading out to our private patio. The pool and hot tub were also very quiet - another benefit versus larger hotels (like the Westin we stayed in last time), which helps with the overall romantic atmosphere of the Inn. The breakfast was very nice, with fresh fruit and veg to go along with a daily egg bake and fresh waffles. The evening appetizers and wine tasting is a fantastic feature - and helps bridge the gap nicely for a later dinner reservation. Staff was cheerful and helpful. We did not join the 'Inncursion' full day wine tasting trip (preferred to be on our own schedule), but other couples had great things to say about it. Also nice - two very nice tasting rooms within walking distance (Freemark Abbey and Duckhorn) make for a nice leisurely stroll - especially if you arrive before check in time, as we did. Overall - it was our favorite Napa trip to date, and a place we are very likely to return to.

One final recommendation: absolutely schedule a massage while you stay, and enjoy it outdoors in the spa cabana. It's tucked in to a very secluded area overlooking the vineyard, and it was probably the best massage my wife and I have ever had. Ask for Isabelle and Jackie!

Book with confidence!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hi Tim,

Your review brought a big smile to our massage therapists' faces! So glad that the two of you enjoyed your spa treatments with Isabelle and Jackie.

Happy Anniversary once again, and we hope to see the both of you in the not-too-distant future.

Best,

Tim Polk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Great location tucked away off of Lodi Lane. It gave us easy access north and south to hit all the vineyards but was quiet. Staff -- especially Kelly and Jim -- we're very friendly and helpful. Room was nice with a vineyard view. Wine tastings every night at 4:30, just after most vineyards are closing. Breakfast was delicious.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I recommend you splurge on the vineyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,056 reviews
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
11.1 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
737 reviews
15.7 mi away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing