We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best...skip the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Quite possibly the best place to stay while in Napa Valley. This is not your typical bed and breakfast. Rooms are luxuriously appointed, the grounds are breathtaking and the pool area is divine. The staff are extraordinarily friendly and accommodating. The property is surrounded by vineyards making you feel as if you were on a private vineyard estate. A perfect destination for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
There are newer reviews for Wine Country Inn & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was my second stay at the Wine Country Inn and there's a reason we came back. The customer service is incredible. They truly care about you have a wonderful time in the area. The staff is so attentive and helpful at every turn. From the breakfast in the morning and the appetizers and wine in the afternoon (which is all included in your stay) they go above and beyond any other hotel experience. I love that they drive you to dinner and pick you up.
This time we stayed in one of the cottages, which sits on the vineyard and it was amazing. Very large, with an incredible bathroom. I just can't say enough about this place. They make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and from the moment we arrived everything was fabulous. The accomodations were top notch (we had a cottage) and the staff were helpful and extremely knowledgable on what to do and where to go in and around St. Helena. If its your first time to wine country take the wine tour....Marty was great. Overall it was the perfect get away and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Cottages by the vinyards have a great view but you can't go wrong with any of them.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keaton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We've booked in at this property numerous times and if you want to enjoy a relaxing weekend this is the place to stay. However, if you are someone who is more in tune with the sports or news channels this is not the place to stay as they do not have a TV in any of the rooms. Each evening they provide a happy hour from 4:30 - 6:00 p.m which features a different winery each night, pouring samples from their winery. The appetizers provided for happy hour are also pretty nice. Each morning they provide a great breakfast which usually includes items that are actually grown on the property. The rooms on this property are all different and unique. Many of the rooms have views of the vineyards while others have a hot tub or spa that is included with the room. The cottages, though pricey, are just gorgeous and provide you with a serene and relaxed feeling. The manager and staff are very so congenial and are one of the biggest reasons we continue to come back. Also, if you are a returning guest there is a discount given. The other reason we frequent this establishment is because they have a shuttle service that runs late in the evening and has allowed us to taste the libations throughout the area. Additionally, you will meet Janelle who can give you a list of all the great places to dine. She is so interesting and a great resource to use. Again, if you want a place to relax and somewhere to use as a base to plan your excursions of the area, we definitely recommend this as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We'd suggest going on-line and reviewing the individual rooms as each has a boutique style.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is the best place to stay in Napa. I originally had booked a room at one of the pricey, five star hotels, but after dealing with an issue regarding a room upgrade, I decided to cancel and stay here based upon the online reviews. I am so glad I did! We had a private, extremely spacious cottage with a large, private outdoor area overlooking the vineyards. They have a delicious wine tasting in their lobby each day, offer wine tasting passes to many wineries close by, and just in general have very customized and attention oriented customer service. They brought us a fabulous bottle of champagne for our anniversary as well. I will definitely be back!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jenesaisquoiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We spent one night here, unfortunately, on our way through Napa Valley. It was adorable and had great touches and views! The staff was friendly and we loved the afternoon wine tasting and delicious breakfast! The shuttle service to dinner is also amazing. Would definitely stay again if we are here!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great vineyard views!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meredith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a beautiful, relaxing Inn. Everything was perfect. The setting was incredible with vineyards and mountains right outside your room. It was set back off a quiet road but yet was close enough to downtown St Helena for great restaurants and shops / galleries. The staff was impeccable and extremely helpful. The room was large enough for an extended stay and it was clean and up to date. Breakfast and Happy Hour events were well done. The gardens and pool area was absolutely beautiful. You could actually walk to four wineries (including Duckhorn) from the Inn. What more can I say? I have already recommended The Wine Country Inn to family and friends and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TigerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
11.1 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#4 of 6 in Yountville
744 reviews
15.7 mi away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: $314 - $835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing