We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and i spent three nights here last week, and loved it. Beautiful location, quaint property, and very friendly helpful team.

Complimentary shuttle to and from many restaurants was very welcome. Thank you to Jim, Tim and Janelle for looking after us so well.

Breakfast was delicious, with a good selection. The afternoon wine and nibbles also very nice.

We would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11. Lovely view out of rear of property over grounds. Nice balcony. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandLiz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Mike, Liz--So happy to have hosted our new friends from England. You hit some great weather and we're so thrilled that you enjoyed that great Room #11 and all the "goodies" that go along with a stay here at The Wine Country Inn. Please keep us in mind for when you make your next trip across the "pond".

Best!

Tim Polk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at the Wine Country Inn for 4 nights in one of there smaller rooms. The room was super clean and nice. As a smaller room, it was missing some of the amenities that the larger rooms offer. (no in room fridge). The staff at the Inn are terrific and extremely helpful. Great location in Napa to get to all of the wineries that you might want to visit. Daily Breakfast and Wine tasting are very nice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbrstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Michael, Ashley,

It was great to meet you both during your recent visit to The Wine Country Inn with the R's. We do feel that we have a great location, being so close to so many wineries, the amazing vineyard views, and of course a short walk to our pool (which you two took much advantage of--ha!).

Your room (our Room #10) is one of our standard rooms in our main building--clean and contemporary, but you're right, lacking an amenity or two. Next time, we'll try to get you into one of our suites or, even, one of the cottages like your friends stay in. (Please contact me directly.)

Hope to see you again next year.

Cheers,

Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nothing but positive things to say about our experience at the Wine Country Inn. Cottage was amazing and we did not want to ever leave the patio.

Everyone was very nice and professional and the van rides into town for dinner were great.

Hope to be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 4-night stay - our first trip to Napa. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast each morning (Death by Cheese was our favorite dish), a relaxing and filling wine and appetizer hour in the afternoon (multiple hours, actually), and the beautiful grounds that surrounded us (very nice pool, hot tub, breakfast patios, vineyard views, swing, etc). It is never crowded and the offerings are very plentiful. Jim does a wonderful job managing this inn!

The evening shuttle was a very nice touch. You can truly relax when you arrive back at 5pm because not only is there wine and food awaiting you, but a free shuttle to take you to dinner. Janelle is happy to take you where you want to go, with helpful tips and recommendations for the restaurants too!

Tracy was AMAZING on our Inncursion (6-hr wine tasting excursion). She shuttled us to a few lesser known (yet amazing) vineyards, one that turned out to be our favorite from all 3 days of tastings (Madrigal). Her lunch salad back at the Inn is not to be missed either. Thank you, Tracy!

You must go. You will not find a better place to stay at this price! Great perks, even a refrigerator with bottled waters (honor system) and open shelves for your use re: leftovers or that amazing bottle of white wine you'd like to enjoy by the pool.

Room Tip: Splurge for the newer buildings, unless you prefer the older B&B style. We had a room in the ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was our first trip to Napa. Breakfast and the afternoon wine tastings were great. The staff was very friendly and helpful with of recommendations. We highly recommend Room # 20 with big views of the surrounding vineyards. The evening shuttle service to and from restaurants made things carefree and the Inn-cursion was a nice way to sample 4-5 of the nearby wineries. We will definitely return to stay here on our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Wine Country Inn is a charming place to stay, the staff is friendly and the morning breakfast and evening wine tasting are delightful and a great way to meet other folks visiting Napa. The bus service in the evening is very helpful, especially after a day of wine tasting.

While it is charming, some of that charm comes at a price. We stayed in the original building and blew a fuse by using the hair dryer and iron at the same time. The drawers in the dresser were not on tracks and would fall off when opened more than half way.

It's still a great place to stay and experience the wine country, but next time we would try one of the newer rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newer rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank The5MRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was our second visit to Napa Valley in +25 years. Both times, we stayed at the Inn. It's a great B&B. It's easy to get to and within a short walking or driving distance of many wineries. The common areas, room, breakfasts and wine tastings were all great. The staff was very nice and accomodating. For our next visit, we wouldn't think of staying at any other B&B or hotel other than the Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,090 reviews
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#6 of 6 in Yountville
29 reviews
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,130 reviews
5.3 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: $267 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing