We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place in the vineyards” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wine Country Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Wine Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A great place in the vineyards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a spectacular room with fireplace and a big (!) bathroom. Wow. The service and concierge are very good. We loved also the free shuttle for diner places. The heated pool and hot tub are a nice plus, too. Having breakfast on the sunny terrace in November was nice, too. Net, we wholeheartedly endorse this lovely inn!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    143
    37
    25
    4
See reviews for
65
719
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Staying at the Wine Country Inn was a great experience. The rooms are decorated with wine country elegance. Fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs, balconies overlooking the property and all the amenities you would expect from a $350 per night room. The property is reminiscent of Old Europe and the service was outstanding. A delicious breakfast buffet (they'll give you the recipe if you like the food) from 7:30 to 10:00 every morning and a fun happy hour with wine tastings every afternoon. Ask Janelle, the transportation van driver where to go for dinner and she'll give you great tips, then take you there and pick you up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreasureIslandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have been enjoying the Wine Country Inn for many, many years, and hope to for many more. We love the views of the vineyards and love relaxing on the private patios of the villas, or in front of the fireplace inside. The Inn is located right off the "main drag" for winery tasting, but set off from the heavy traffic. The management and staff has always been so welcoming and friendly. The setting of the Inn is so beautiful, with walking paths through the gardens. The pool and hot tub are perfect after a long day of wine tasting! The breakfasts and afternoon wine tasting with appetizers are always inventive and delicious...their homemade granola is outstanding! The rooms are always clean, the beds so comfortable, and service is outstanding. The villa baths are amazing! Truly is and hopefully always will be our go-to residence when staying in Napa. You may pay a little bit more, but it is absolutely worth every penny!

Room Tip: Room 19 (our daughter stayed in there) is very large with a great bathroom and beautiful views. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a relaxing getaway and love the outdoors so we picked this Inn although its more expensive than I usually want to pay. From the moment we arrived we were delighted by the beautiful country setting and relaxed atmosphere. We had Room 1 only a few steps from the gardens and pool. Highlights for us were cycle riding through nearby vineyards (try the Franz loop), hiking to Coyote peak, early morning swims as the sun came up, and getting to know Calistoga. I would recommend this inn to frazzled couples who are looking for a place to recharge and are active, outdoor types. There is not much going on at the inn itself except for a nice pool and of course the afternoon wine-tasting, but the location is stunning and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Wine Country Inn was a recommended, yet still unexpected, haven of relaxation, comfort, and enjoyable experiences. Hubby and I spent a couple days in San Fran and then drove up for a couple days to relax and unwind in Wine Country. Ohhh, how we wish we had skipped the bay area and just spent all of our time at WCI! We're already counting down to our return trip...

The PEOPLE are the heart of the Inn, making you feel warm, welcomed, and right at home.

The ROOM we had was cozy, yet spacious, with an amazing view of the neighboring vineyard. It made relaxation and winding down very easy!

The daily evening hors d'oeuvres and wine tasting were such a nice touch to our stay. The bites are prepared fresh and on-site, like the wonderful breakfasts provided each morning. And when they say you can come down for breakfast in your robe, they mean just that! I definitely felt like I was at home :)

We also enjoyed dinner in town and they provide a complimentary shuttle service to take you to many area restaurants. And the driver is the best - providing great conversation and lots of helpful tips for your dining experience.

We weren't able to enjoy the outside grounds (ie pool, courtyard, etc) but they were all very beautiful.

I want to give special recognition to Jackie, who went above and beyond to make our first trip to Wine Country a memorable and enjoyable one! The general manager was also instrumental in making it possible for us to finalize our plans to stay at WCI.

We look forward to visiting again soon!

Room Tip: Actual pics and accurate descriptions of the rooms are featured on WCI's website. If upgrades ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
302 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Every two years we return to Napa for the wine and relaxation at the Wine Country Inn. This was our fourth visit and the Inn and the people at the inn never fail to let us down with their caring and friendly help. This year the owner, Jim, as a special favor, brought the old stretch suburban out of mothballs for the eight of us to tour some wineries with Marty on own own. We appreciate that favor more than he would know as it kept 2 of our party of eight from having to be designated drivers and miss out on the tastings. The rooms are well appointed and clean, the breakfasts delicious and the staff is marvelous, making the stay each time stress-free. Thank you all at WCI

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Nc
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location. Terrific breakfast. Solid wine tasting in the evening. No tv but who needs one. No fitness center but there's one not too far away by Merryvale that they have a relationship with. Near Duckhorn, near the Silverado Trail and the main drag. Revana! Schramsberg, Frank Family, Kruger etcetera are all nearby.

Room Tip: No fitness center but access to a health club about a mile south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadrunner015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
19.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
19.2 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine Country Inn

Property: The Wine Country Inn
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself I romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing