We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, homely and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wine Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Charming, homely and welcoming”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

One of the most charming and homely places I’ve ever stayed. The staff are all incredibly warm and helpful. We had one of the smallest rooms but it was still spacious and comfortable. The wine tasting from 4.30pm til 6pm was great and the accompanying appetisers were delicious. Chef Ryan is a talented guy and the breakfast was also fabulous, with dishes such as Denver casserole and homemade zucchini muffins. There is a “designated driver service” which provides a free shuttle to nearby restaurants in the evening. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    144
    37
    25
    4
See reviews for
65
727
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We love the Wine Country Inn! We've been there three times now, and have enjoyed it each time. The rooms are nicely decorated, with a country flair. The breakfast is hearty, and the afternoon wine tastings have great apps. We didn't use the pool this time, but have enjoyed it in the past. We also used the restaurant shuttle. The drivers were very helpful with recommendations about restaurants or particular dishes.

We stayed in rooms 3 and 15, but have stayed in room 19, a junior suite, before. Room 3 is one of the few with a king bed. It also has a day bed for an extra person or as a couch.

Imagine stepping out into a garden with a view of a vineyard beyond. With a glass of wine in your hand. That's what it's like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookers96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here for our anniversary. The Wine Country Inn is a special place. We were upgraded to room # 2, which had a great terrace surrounded by beautiful landscaping. The grounds are goregeous, with vineyard and mountain views throughout, including the wonderful pool area. Breakfast every morning was delicious, as were the appetizers served during the wine hour each afternoon (another thing we really enjoyed, even after a long day of wine tasting!). I can't say enough good things about this place - it's the perfect balance between a small B&B and a ultra high-end resort.

Do take advantage of the free dinner shuttle. It couldnt have been easier. We took it to Press and La Condessa, which were both excellent. The driver, Janelle, was prompt and very entertaining.

A highlight for us was the Wine "Inncursion" tour which we booked through the hotel. We were taken in a luxury van to four vineyards by the wonderful Marty, who was funny, helpful, and quite knowledgeable about Napa wine. The vineyards we went to were mostly smaller and "off the beaten path" which allowed us to interact more and enjoy some hidden gem wines. Each place knew our driver well, which allowed us to taste some off-menu wines and get more "color"
than we would have on our own. In the middle of the tastings, we had a delicious lunch back at the Inn prepared by Marty - a nice break.

Tip - the hotel has some free tasting passes for vineyards so be sure to speak with them before going out on your own. We had a free tasting nearby at Freemark Abbey while waiting to check in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parrothead42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Wine Country Inn for years. I think our recent stay was our 16th or 17th visit. The last 6or 7 years we have stayed in the same room overlooking the vineyard with a covered porch where we spend a lot of time vegging out. My husband thinks these four days are the best days of the year. The staff is great,and helpful but not intrusive. Good breakfast. Kitchen staff was great, I have a gluten allergy and they were happy to make me scrambled eggs since I often could not eat the prepared egg dishes. We have followed the inn through all the upgrades and we're always happy to return.. Already have our reservation for June 2014.

Room Tip: Go on line and look at the rooms. We have picked rooms based on big showers, porch, suites have ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank LBMD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at The Wine Country Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Laurel, it's always a pleasure to host yourself and F. We know that Room #20 is your fave - ha!

Thanks for being such loyal "fans" of the ever-changing (but at the heart, the same) The Wine Country Inn.

Cheers,

Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We loved our stay at the WCI! This is our first visit to Napa Valley and the staff at the Inn made it a very memorable experience. We will definitely return! The location in the valley is very convenient to wineries and restaurants. The setting of the Inn overlooking vineyards is very beautiful and peaceful. The staff were all so friendly and helpful offering many great winery selections and dining recommendations. The breakfast and wine reception always had great food and very fresh ingredients from the garden (love the recipe cards!). We really enjoyed having a different wine maker each night at the wine receptions. It was a great way to try some new wineries and unwind from the day before heading to dinner. We loved the use of the evening shuttle and Jeanelle and Liz always had great suggestions on what to order! Also, thanks to Tracy for a really fun day and great vineyard selections on the InnCursion! We will definitely do this again when we return. The room could use a little updating, but the beds were SO comfortable! Overall, this was a fantastic vacation and we can't wait to return to Napa Valley and stay at the WCI!

Room Tip: Next time we will do one of the suites or cottages. If staying in the main building, I would sugges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srohrbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at The Wine Country Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Stacey, thank you very much for your wonderful comments! We had so much fun hosting you both. Yes, Tracy is a gem (though as I mentioned at Wine Service, I WISH she was a little more upbeat and I WISH she was a little nicer, but what can you do???).

And yes, we are working on plans now for updates to our rooms this off-season, and yes, Room #4 will definitely be on our list. We want to keep our charm yet continue to keep the rooms "fresh."

We look forward to seeing you both again soon!

Best,

Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Wine Country Inn for a long weekend and we absolutely loved it! The property is quiet and very pretty and our room was also very nice. What made the experience most memorable was the staff here! Everyone was so nice!

We did the Wine Inn-Cursion with Tracy and she was FABULOUS! We made quick friends with everyone in our group and the day was filled with laughter and great memories! Tracy was very knowledgeable and took us to some great wineries in the area. Jannelle, their complimentary driver in the evenings for dinner, was also fantastic! She provided great tips on some of her favorite dishes at the places we ate. Finally Jim and Ryan their chef made the best breakfast and appetizers in the afternoon!

We truly had a wonderful weekend and can't wait to return in the future!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had stayed there many times and they do not disappoint. The rooms are above average and the staff and location are welcoming and professional. It is a couple of minutes off of 29 and yet you feel you are deep in the country. A good bet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randye F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,022 reviews
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,279 reviews
5.3 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
645 reviews
19.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine Country Inn

Property: The Wine Country Inn
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing