We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in St. Helena” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wine Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wine Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Jewel in St. Helena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2008

I am just finishing up my stay at the Wine Country Inn. If I knew then what I know now - I'd stay here for my entire vacation!

First - the staff is warm and friendly. We arrived later than we expected due to airline trouble. We were tired and hungry. The woman who greeted us called a few nearby restaurants and asked if they could still serve us (it was almost 9:00 on a Sunday) and found us one right away.

We didn't get a good look at the place until the next morning - and it's just lovely. The Inn is surrounded by beautiful views of the Napa hillsides. The landscaping is amazing - with flowers and vines and the scent of rosemary and honeysuckle breezing through the air.

Our room is comfortable and large. Every detail, from cozy bath robes to q-tips are available. Some have criticized the decor, but it's an INN - it's supposed to be a bit rustic and old-fashioned looking! We are in room #4 - which has a shady patio right out of our back door.

Breakfast is plentiful and tasty - and runs long enough so if you want to sleep late you won't miss it! In the evening there is a wine-tasting provided by one of the local wineries as well as appetizers - you can even ask for the recipes!

We took the wine tasting tour which lasts for the whole day. Our guide was knowledgeable and congenial and took us to off-the-beaten-path wineries that offered inexpensive to free tastings (unusual in wine country these days, so I'm told). It was worth the price. I found out that you can arrange for the Inn to have any bottles of wine you purchase shipped home for you (through a service). That's another plus I didn't expect!

Only one complaint, and it's really not that important - my cell phone had terrible reception unless I went outside. Big deal, I went outside - it was gorgeous.

The only other snag is that there are no TV's in the rooms. That's only a problem if you absolutely HAVE to watch something. But - there is a business center with a computer and a large TV in a common room that you can watch if you can't record your show at home. Or, you can bring your lap-top along and download the episode the next day.

All in all - I will probably stay here again and again - there's no need to look any further. I would hightly recommend Wine Country Inn for honeymooners, adults or those travelling with their adult children OVER 21. (Napa in general isn't accommodating to young kidsor tweens, IMO. They can't go to tastings and there aren't any large stuffed animals walking around to entertain them - no kids menus or McDonalds that I've seen thus far either).

I'd be hard pressed to find anything I didn't like about staying here - and hope to return here in the future.

  • Liked — The staff; the surrounding beauty; the location
  • Disliked — What's not to like?
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hoperich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    143
    37
    24
    4
See reviews for
65
718
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2008

We were looking for the perfect romantic weekend getaway to Napa and had high expectations of the Wine Country Inn. We had seen all the positive reviews and we were not disappointed after we arrived. The Inn and gardens were beautiful! The staff were great and made us feel right at home. They were always quick to help and satisfy any needs we had during our three night stay. The food and the afternoon wine tasting were wonderful! Our room, suite 19, was very spacious and comfortable. It was the most relaxing location for an evening couple's massage that we had scheduled through the services provided by the Inn. (Highly recommended the day you arrive!) The room had a large 2 person jetted tub, a balcony that overlooked the vineyard & gardens, and the furishings were unique and well fitted for the room. Our room was also very quiet and we never missed the TV!

The Wine "Inn-cursion" provided by the Inn was a great idea and one of the highlights of our trip. Tracey was a wonderful host for our tour and we got to taste some really great wines without any of the work required to drive and arrange a tour route.

The Inn has a gorgeous pool and hot tub that was very relaxing after a day of visiting wineries. The shuttle service provided by the Inn to area restaurants also took the worry out of enjoying a bottle of wine at dinner.

My wife and I both hated to leave and really enjoyed our stay and the people we met at the Inn. It was the perfect choice for a 20th wedding anniversary honeymoon!

  • Liked — The staff and atmosphere of the Inn
  • Disliked — That we had to leave!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckydog-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

Recently stayed at the Wine Country Inn and loved it. It is quaint, and very wam and welcoming. The location is perfect for exploring the Napa Valley wineries, and close to all the restaurants that we wanted to sample. The rooms are quite large, and we were fortunate to have a balcony. We had attempted one of the cabins, but unavailable, so settled on a room within the inn. Nice and quiet with a fantastic view of vineyards, amazing breakfasts and snacks/coffee/ and even wine tastings later in the day. Staff were always doing there best to help out, and the free shuttle to local restaurants was an added plus. My only criticism was the upholstery in the main area could benefit from an update, as would the bedspread/pillow cases in the room. Overall, a fantastic experience, and i would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Liked — Friendly helpful staff
  • Disliked — bedding
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiedblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

My wife and I went to San Francisco with family and decided , while we were out there, we'd take the drive to wine country after they came back home. We found the Wine Country Inn on line and booked it...hoping it would be as nice as it looked on the website. I have to say the website does NOT do it justice. A website cannot convey a staff's kindness, courtesy and talent. They made us feel like they were there to do nothing else but be sure we had the times of our lives! The food was amazing, the hospitality was second to none and the ammenitites (including the InnCursion and restaurant Shuttle) were top notch. I won't even go into the views from the patio - WOW! I can't say enough about the Inn...except GO! Although the bill may seem pricey, it is well worth every penny. We will go back to Napa Valley and we WILL be staying at the Wine Country Inn again.

Bob and Tonia
Lansing, MI

  • Liked — Location, staff and ammenities
  • Disliked — Internet was VERy slow...but that's certainly not why we were there!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BobQ106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2008

We spent two nights at the Wine Country Inn, and it exceeded our expectations. The location is perfect - just off of the two main roads in the valley, making it a little quieter, yet still convenient to all the wineries at the north end of the valley. The setting overlooking a vineyard, combined with the gardens that meander throughout the property, make for an idyllic setting. Our cottage - the "Owner's Cottage" was a little different than many of the others, as it is smaller, and still contains some of the "original decor" from the 80's (all the others are new or newly decorated), but nonetheless, it was a charming room, with everything we could want. Notably, we didn't realize until a fellow guest mentioned it, that there are no TV's in the rooms. With such a great setting and all the things to do, we didn't notice or care! The complementary hot & cold buffet breakfast, prepared by the onsite chef, Guy, was delicious - one hot egg dish, accompanied by breads, fantastic homemade granola, cereals, and fruit. But it was the people that made it special. The staff truly do go out of their way to make you feel at home. From the first time you call, and throughout your stay, they make sure your needs are taken care of, give local restaurant and winery advice, offer to make reservations, and most importantly, will take the time to just shoot the breeze with you, if you choose. In just over 24 hours, we felt that we knew Joyce, Carol, Trish, and Janelle like old friends. All in all, we would not change a thing about our stay. We will be returning to The Wine Country Inn.

One thing to note if you're not a veteran of the Napa Valley (which included us until this trip!): From the first buds of the grapes in February through April, a frost can be deadly to the grapes, so if it does approach or dip below freezing during these months, they have to turn on the vineyard heaters, which are large windmill-looking turbines. While they didn't have to use them during our stay, we've been told that it sounds like a 747 taking off through your room. So I'd recommend either avoiding these months or studying the weather forecast pretty intently during those months, so you can plan accordingly if there's a forecast of frost.

  • Liked — Friendly & attentive staff and location
  • Disliked — No workout facilities
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OCJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mckboston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE The Wine Country Inn.....Reading all the reviews brings back so many good memories I can't wait to go back!!! We stayed at the Inn for 7 days on our Honeymoon. We were in room 17 with a great private patio and view of the vineyard. The rooms are more country but very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I felt very relaxed while we were in the room. It gave us both more of an "at home" feel instead of feeling like we were in a hotel for the week. Breakfast was amazing! Every morning we looked forward to the egg casserole selection and the granola and fresh fruit were delicious! We booked the Wine Incursion that is provided by the hotel!! A MUST DO!!! Tracy is so friendly and knowledgeable. We went to great wineries that we wouldn’t have found ourselves. We recommend Tudal, Venge and Summers they were all very good! Best part of all is that we didn’t have to drive! Joyce is awesome!!!! She booked everything for us from excursions to dinner and made changes for us as needed. When she made the reservations for dinner she always told them we were on our Honeymoon and we were surprised by each restaurant with a complimentary glass of champagne or dessert. The afternoon tasting and appetizers were great. A couple of nights we ate so many appetizers we cancelled our dinner reservations. For the nights we did go to dinner Janelle drove us! This is such a great service provided by the Inn and Janelle is so friendly! She has great knowledge of the valley and we enjoyed talking with her to and from dinner! I just can’t say enough, it was the most enjoyable, relaxing vacation my husband and I have been on! We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2008

We stayed at Wine Country for a weekend. Overall, our expectations were very high.
The room was clean, even though it was a nicer room with fireplace, I was expecting a little nicer room with newer appliances/bathroom.
The lights were not working properly and everything was more or less almost worn out. Don't get me wrong, it was a nice place compare to other B&B we were passing by.
The personnel is very friendly, but you do not get an ambience of being someone's family guest, sort of feeling what you are looking for going to B&B.
Breakfast was self-service, everything was fresh.

Overall, it was a good experience, but the hotel is slightly overrated.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old rooms, decor
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KofkaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
19.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
19.2 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine Country Inn

Property: The Wine Country Inn
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself I romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing