We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for four nights over Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time. The property is beautiful, nestled literally amongst the vineyards in the countryside. With a heated pool and hot tub, lush landscape and privacy, it is beautiful. Tim, the manager, was amazing. He is very personable and wants everyone to have a great experience at the Inn. We spent a portion of each happy hour chatting with him about restaurants, wineries and many other non-trip related topics. We took his suggestions and they were great. We stayed in a room in the main building. Our room was a really nice size and had a wood burning fireplace with a great patio. The bathroom was very small and the furnishings felt a bit dated, but overall it was highly comfortable. We also had a chance to experience the luxury cottages. Wonderful. Very private, great patios that were literally on top of the vineyard next door, extremely comfortable beds and furniture. We enjoyed The Wine Country Inn experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, Front Office Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
WanderingJoe, great to meet both yourself and K during your visit her over Thanksgiving. I enjoyed our chats at our evening wine social. And yes, for your next visit, we're "on" to visit Jarvis and Anderson Conn Valley (and maybe a wildcard, too -- I'm working on some new "must-see" spots!). Have a great holiday season. Cheers, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    151
    39
    25
    4
See reviews for
65
748
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We just completed our 4th stay at The Wine Country Inn, and the experience gets better each time. Since our last stay, they've added a wonderful 8-passenger shuttle van to take guests into and back from St. Helena each evening between 5:00-10:00 PM, so if you haven't had enough wine during the day, you can relax, drink to your heart's content, and let Janelle do the driving and give you the recommended specials at each restaurant (and she's right, as well!).

The rooms are large and comfortable, and some have fireplaces, if you prefer one. During the summer, you may want to use the large pool. There is also a hot tub, I believe, although we've never used it. Breakfasts are wonderful, with a different omelet/frittata/quiche-type dish each morning, along with fresh fruit, granola and cereals, juices, coffee, etc.

Every afternoon, a different winery (usually a small "unknown" producer) comes in to pour complimentary wines, and Chef Bryan has prepared wonderful hors d'oeuvres. This goes on for about 1-1.5 hours, and is always a treat.

The staff is very helpful at all times, and the word "hospitable" certainly applies to this facility. Additionally, we love the location, about 10 minutes north of St. Helena, as it generally has us going in the opposite direction as traffic, heading south in the morning, and north in the afternoon.

If we could add one thing, it would be a TV, even if just in the common area, just so we could keep up with what's going on in the world.

Room Tip: When calling for reservations, discuss what you want--they're very helpful in getting you the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The word "welcome" must have been coined here. The reception and dedication of all the staff to make you feel at home are second to none! Specially Tim, who went out of his way to get us the best tips, places and wineries around Napa Valley and even the Sonoma coast! He is awesome.
And then you have the rooms! Only in my dreams I had better, or more romantic setting. If you are considering a trip to Napa valley, don't hesitate: choose the Wine Country Inn for your stay! You will love it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, Front Office Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
A, A -- SO much fun meeting you both during your recent stay at The Wine Country Inn. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Napa Valley and that my recommendations and suggestions turned out so well. I especially enjoyed speaking with you both about Lausanne. I told my daughter about your recommendations, and she has PROMISED to visit the Christkindlsmarkt in Montreux - ha! Please come see us again soon! Cheers! Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Staff was very friendly, informative and made me feel welcomed. Afternoon wine tasting was very good. Appetizers during the wine tasting were very good and filling. The complementary tastings at outside wineries is a bonus. The room has so many little details that made it special. I loved sitting on the balcony, enjoying the fresh air and view.
Location is great just off 29, so it's easy to get anywhere. Also it was easy to walk to a nice restaurant and a winery.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 49ers_Gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just returned from our stay at the wine country inn and as usual we had a terrific time. We got married last year and stayed at this charming B&B and couldnt wait to come back to celebrate our anniversary. The staff was kind enought to upgrade us to one of the newly renovated cottages and it was amazing and appreciated. The cottage was very private, luxurious and charming. We were sad to leave. The staff is always very friendly and genuinely interested in making your trip memorable. I look forward to our next trip and we will definetly be staying at the Wine Country Inn.

Room Tip: Do some research online. You can see the descriptions and pictures of each room. Definetly get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella89014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our second stay at the Inn which is a perfect spot while visiting the valley. The accomodations are very nice and give you the feel of being somewhat secluded even though you know there is another room right next door. The staff is friendly and genuinely care about your stay. The afternoon wine tasting and snacks are also a nice touch.

Room Tip: Room 17 was very nice overlooking the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I go to the wine country (Napa and Sonoma) often and this Inn was perfect. It had the amenities you might like but not pretentious "stuff" that you don't need. Consequently, it is comparatively reasonable and absolutely enjoyable. Location is great also.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have an excellent view so it is more about whether you want an additional sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,991 reviews
11.1 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
731 reviews
15.7 mi away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing