We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty....but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pretty....but”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The cottage is not good for more than 2 adults since it is more of a big studio with 2 beds, don't expect separate bedrooms. Bath is unnecessarily big, money better spent in making 2 distinct bedrooms. For an expensive inn Thayer ships case after case of wine for their guests, they couldn't give us an idea for shipping home a case. Every vintage could but not them. Then, when we found out the cost, it was triple what the vineyards were charging. SHIPPING WINE FROM HERE BEWARE

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJI40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, Owner at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Well, thank you for giving us a nice score, but I am completely confused by your review. Our luxurious, romantic 8oo sq ft vineyard cottages ARE only designed for one couple and yes, the bathrooms are unnecessarily big, each with a heated tile floor, huge double vanity, three-headed walk-in, glass-block shower and two-person jetted tub complete with lighted stained glass window and stereo Bose speakers. If you came with more than two people and you wanted privacy, we would have been happy to rent you two beautiful fireplace rooms, and it probably would have been less expensive than one of our amazing cottages.

And, I'm sorry, what were you saying about shipping wine? We don't charge anything to help you ship wine. Zip! Zero! We have hunted around for the best shipper we could find ( price / reliability), have their shipping forms on hand, help you fill out the forms, call the company for their latest prices for each state, call the company back to arrange pick-up, and store your wine until it is picked up. And what was it again that we charge. That would be ZIP, ZERO. And we're happy to do it until someone accuses us of gouging them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    149
    38
    25
    4
See reviews for
65
743
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Some of the negative reviews I've read about this place, they just don't get it. This is a family owned inn. It is charming. This is a place where you actually have a really key, not a plastic card. This is a place where the staff gives you real advice, not what they have been encouraged to promote. This is a place where you feel welcome. The location is amazing and the price is right for the location. We have visited Napa Valley often. And of all the places we stayed (and many that we have loved) this is the place I will return to on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charwojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, Owner at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Wow, thanks for the great comments. I am glad you appreciate the little stuff we do that we feel sets us apart from other lodging experiences. Ya know, all that is on purpose, too. I just like real keys. I feel it is important to empower my staff to give their real opinions, not mimic mine. I even go so far as to encourage them to use their humor and have REAL interactions with our guests. It's a little risky, because sometimes folks aren't prepared for that (I have gone "oops" more than once when using my humor). But hey, can you imagine if everyone laughed more, felt empowered at work and developed real relationships with their customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

On our first trip to Napa Valley, my partner and I stayed at Wine Country Inn for 6 nights and absolutely loved it! The staff is friendly, welcoming, and totally accommodating. The inn is romantic, charming, quaint, and has incredible food. Restaurant and winery suggestions were wonderful and the restaurant shuttle made getting to our dinner reservations so easy. The "Inn-cursion", with Marty Paradise, was a great addition to our itinerary--we were able to visit multiple wineries without having to worry about driving and were able to visit some of the smaller, boutique wineries we might have missed on our own. And a special mention regarding Janelle Jones, who drove us to the restaurants: she was like an instant friend to us and gave us wonderful restaurant suggestions. We can't wait to go back and spend time with her again!! Thanks to everyone at Wine Country Inn!! Carmen and Christine

Room Tip: Cottages right by the vineyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2manywines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

The location is perfect, the rooms are a bit shabby for the price, the breakfast/room/staff were decent but the reception-staff attitude leaves much to be desired. When I got to the desk at 3.15 PM, there were 2 women at the desk with their backs to the desk - neither of them anxious to greet. After finishing their activity on the computer, one of them turned around and perfunctorily asked, without a trace of welcome, "Can I help you". When I said I was there to check in, she first looked a the clock as if to make sure that it was after 3 PM and then turned on a "pleasant" demeanor. There was no hint of warmth or grace. The innkeeper needs to invest in hospitality training for the reception staff and update the rooms with a bit more cheer.

Room Tip: the website has exaggerated room descriptions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dramchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelFar, Owner at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Dear Dramchan, thank you very much for your comments. Your reception was completely unacceptable. I will look into this immediately. It should not matter when you arrive for your room, whether it is 3:00 PM (our "official" check-in time) or 9:00 in the morning, your reception should be welcoming and gracious. It sounds like you got neither. Since almost all of my staff has been with me for many years (my most recent hire for the front desk was four years ago) they certainly know how I expect guests to be treated. As I say, I will look into this and see if a little pumping up is in order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

The Wine Country Inn is a pleasant bed and breakfast inn in St. Helena, a town in the center of the Napa Valley. Each room is different, with good views of the gardens, vineyards and mountains beyond. A fine and varied breakfast is served each day, as well as a late afternoon wine reception with appetizers. The vineyards at these receptions vary, so you can do a wine tasting each day. The inn offers wonderful massages, too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mguerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a night on Feb 6th to tour wine country. We were upgraded to an awesome room that overlooked vineyards and had a great outdoor patio area. We were given a glass of wine and cheese's upon arrival. Our room had climate controlled heated tile in the bathroom...very nice! They also served us a big breakfast in bed. We used the outdoor pool and hot tub and they were great. The rooms here are very big with wood fireplaces and very charming. We would love to come back. This is our favorite hotel / inn that we have ever visited.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank strizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This was our second stay at The Wine Country Inn and it will not be our last! The room was beautifully decorated, comfy bed, cozy love seat in front of the fireplace and a beautiful patio overlooking the vineyard. The staff is very helpful with suggesting wineries and restaurants. Breakfast was as yummy as I remembered. We shall return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaDivingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,286 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,951 reviews
11.1 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing