We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
91
51
25
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
51
25
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews merryvale winery health spa yogurt continental breakfast napa valley small luxury this lovely hotel chocolate cookies espresso coffee famous burger small balcony fitness facility hotel guests boiled eggs goose and gander terrific location shopping and dining
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 179 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018

First thing's first - you're smack bang in the middle of Napa Valley here. All of the best vineyards and restaurants are close by, and the historic wine trail train went right past our room. The hotel and clean with spacious rooms and a charming spa. The perfect place to stay whilst in Napa!

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JakeH1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelle-Southbridge, General Manager at Southbridge Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you for joining us! Yes, ideally located in downtown St. Helena.... we are walking distance to boutique stores, restaurants, tasting rooms and more. Come back again, there is a lot more to explore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

My wife and I spent two nights at Southbridge on a recent visit to St. Helena. The hotel is within easy walking distance of downtown, although you do have to cut across the tracks for the Wine Train if you take the most direct path. We were able to walk to dinner both nights and to browse through Main Street shops one afternoon. The rooms are a reasonable size, nicely furnished and well maintained, although there could be a bit more soundproofing around the the door into the hallway. There is a very nice lap pool and a fully equipped fitness center. The staff is friendly and helpful although, somewhat surprisingly, you do need to handle your own luggage, which fortunately didn't pose a problem for us. The selection for the breakfast buffet is a bit limited but the fruit was fresh and tasty, which we appreciated. The price does go up on weekend nights so we'd suggest a midweek stay, if that is an option.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BobandSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelle-Southbridge, General Manager at Southbridge Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you for staying with us - come back as soon as you can! Many more darling stores and restaurants to explore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

On our six-week roundtrip we were looking forward to this "small luxury" hotel.
"Small"?
It is quite a huge building with obviously just a few hotel rooms (+ spa which is the gym for the locals and has a nice lap pool, + pizzeria, + rented work spaces).
"Luxury"?
Our room had no daylight. A wisteria covered the window, so we had to turn on the lights, although people kept passing by on the walkway to the adjacent office building. Our room was spacious, but as there was only one armchair for two people we could not really relax. (The lady at the front desk told us, all rooms were alike, but we have seen other rooms...).
"Hotel"?
We did not get the feeling to stay in a hotel: No help with the luggage, no information about the premises or things to see and to do. Housekeeping: Efficient, but no smile, no "good morning". We really did not feel comfortable.
This place was by far the most disappointing accommodation on our tour- considering the room rate.

Room Tip: Not # 13!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Margret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelle-Southbridge, General Manager at Southbridge Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you for your note - please feel free to contact us directly. We would value the opportunity to review your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Most of my view on this hotel was good. However, they seemed to miss communication with customers in cutting water and construction work on the hall way even though it means many electric cords and hoses on the hall way so that people staying at the hotel may be tripped over them and injured. Access to gym ay next door was bonus. Decent breakfast. Spacious room. Nice service. They are not enough. This hotel is missing 2%. Next time I hope they will do better.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jae-Hyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelle-Southbridge, General Manager at Southbridge Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Thank you for your note. Pardon our mess while we upgrade our bathrooms...the result will be worth it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

This is definitely not a luxury hotel and very average with views of the parking lot from the rooms. There is no bell man and you need to get your own luggage out of the car. The bathroom is dated with an old tub/shower combination with a shower curtain and needs to be remodeled. Overall, there are many more charming or luxurious places to stay in the Napa Valley for the price.

Room Tip: ask for a remodeled room if one is available
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank don37621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelle-Southbridge, General Manager at Southbridge Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our property. While we don't have a bellperson per se, our front desk team is always available and prepared to assist with any luggage requests. Yes, we are currently transforming all of our bathrooms - the finished product will be the perfect complement our spacious guest rooms. To enjoy an alternate view, for your next visit, please consider reserving one of our King Deluxe guestrooms - they are all lovely. Thank you for your note.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews