We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Great Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southbridge Napa Valley
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at Southbridge Napa Valley. Our stay was fabulous from entry to exit! When we were greeted at reception, it was with warmth, charm and efficiency. The desk clerk knew that we were running a race early on Saturday morning and offered to make whatever arrangements necessary to ensure we got our morning coffee and nourishment. The race had a late enough start time that that was not necessary, but the offer was so appreciated. Also, the breakfast at the hotel was not extensive, but was very good. Cereals, assorted locally-baked breads and pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, juice and great coffee. The room was spacious and light. It was also well-appointed - great bath amenities, bath robes, fully stocked mini-frig, coffee with real half and half and half and snack bar. There was a nightly turn-down service complete with the most delicious chocolates! No need to get dessert when you go out to dinner, it will be on your pillow when you return. And the bed was so comfortable, the water pressure in the shower so good.
The hotel is a stone's throw from 3 wineries and several amazing restaurants. Additionally, hotel guests have access to the adjoining spa and fitness center. It is a top-notch facility with a heated lap pool, hot tub, steam room, and fully-equipped fitness facility.
My husband and I bought a fair amount of wine while in Napa, and the staff was wonderful in getting it shipped home for us with no fuss, no inconvenience. The staff was so helpful and so friendly, I would not hesitate to recommend Southbridge to others or to return at my earliest opportunity!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Southbridge Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Congratulations on a successful run and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Southbridge is a proud sponsor of the Napa Valley Marathon (NVM). We'll be offering the same NVM special offering: early breakfast, shuttle to the start and special turndown all included. Contact us today to reserve your spot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 160 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Located right next to Tra Vigne Restaurant and Pizzeria. Pleasant Spa and great location in St. Helena. The room includes a fireplace. I would have hoped for more amenities in the room. Continental breakfast was good with pastries, cereals, coffee and juice. Just get the feeling that they could do a biut more to make the place even more special (nicer linens and towels, more items at breakfast, etc.) After all, most people who come to Napa are looking for great food, great wine, and a luxurious experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The rooms are nice size, clean and new but lack character. But the location is perfect, you can walk into town and to dinner for the most part (the hotel restaurant has great pizza). The health club is great, large and new with a nice lap pool. It's not a B&B so don't expect a grand breakfast in the morning. Just coffee and basic continental.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

For the expensive rates this hotel could do much better! Nothing is luxurious. Finishes in the rooms are very ordinary without taste. Not even the included breakfast was appealing. Clean and comfortable. The excellent location is one of the only attribute of this expensive B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0telJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

There was so many options of good hotels in the Napa Valley area that I had a "hard" time to finally choose one. Fortunately I chose Southbridge. It was a lovely surprise since I did not pick one of the famous hotels in the area. The staff was great, the place was lovely, the room was big and beautiful, the gym and spa were great, I only thought the breakfast should be better, but that was not a big problem since you can find amazing places nearby (but for heaven's sake, don't miss the breakfast at Bloom Fly Cafe at Carneros Inn). I was supposed to stay for only 2 nights and ended up staying for 7 nights! Can't wait to return?

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Adrianalfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Southbridge Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

We wanted to extend a big thank you to all of our guests who take the time to share their experiences with us. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at the Southbridge Inn for 2 nights. The room was excellent. Very large with a high ceiling, fireplace and small balconette. Bed was Huge and very comfortable. Also had a turndown service with chocolate cookies. Bathroom was well equipped with good quality toiletries. The continental breakfast was quite nice - fruit salad, pastries, cereals, fruit juice, tea, coffee. The staff were polite and very helpful. Only had a quick look at the pool area but appeared quiet and relaxing. You also get a voucher for a free wine tasting at a nearby winery. Overall it is a high quality hotel but I'm not sure it is worth the price. I've stayed at similar hotels for a less money but I guess that's napa in July prices for you.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank quicksilver2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed in this inn for a night on our travels cross California. Beautiful hotel, delightful high ceiling rooms , clean, understated yet faultless. Located in beautiful St Helena this place was restfull and worth the $325 per night. Great staff, lovely breakfast ... I would stay again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
0.9 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
9.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
927 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
17.1 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,064 reviews
3.2 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbridge Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Napa Valley

Address: 1020 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-2011 (Formerly Inn at Southbridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: $258 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbridge Napa Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southbridge Napa Valley is located on Main Street in the historic town of St. Helena in the heart of America's most famous wine growing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southbridge Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Southbridge Hotel St. Helena
Southbridge Inn
Southbridge Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing