We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Country Wonder !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Springs,FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wine Country Wonder !”
Reviewed July 22, 2005

It is hard to describe how perfect a place this is. As we entered our beautifilly appointed ,spacious room, with wood floors, high vaulted ceilings,an incredible fireplace and a magnificant view of the vineyards and mountains we pored our 1st glass of wine and sat down outside on our own private patio.
The Harvest Inn is a unique and charming Tudor/Luxury/Quaint property and hotel. As you walk the brick pathways thru gardens and lush surroundings, over a small bridge on the way to your breakfast house (amazing selection/food) and you sit outside in the garden , it a perfect setting to start your day. We even stopped at the rose garden to take some pictures. Make sure you walk around and see the architecture and all of the beautiful, plush gardens.
The towns St.Helena,Calistoga,Yountsville and the Wineries and Dining are all terrific. The service and staff were great and recommended some wonderful restaurants and sites to see. The only problem we had was when we had to leave. This is one classy and special place that we hope we can visit again.

Helpful?
7 Thank yz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    228
    96
    59
    33
See reviews for
96
693
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We just returned from our anniversary celebration at the Harvest Inn. Our impression was the the staff was absolutely wonderful, professional and accomodating.

However, for the money this place is a rip off. The rooms afforded very limited privacy; you could hear people from other rooms and on the grounds during the late hours of the evening. The pool has no umbrellas for shade and there is no service to get a drink or any kind of snack. There were several other small things one would expect when spending this kind of money and they too were missing.

We did hear from another disappointed guest that there was recently an ownership change. Apparently, they have been going for several years and were disappointed by the prices this time. They said they would not be back either.

We felt that while the grounds are very pretty and the staff is certainly nice, this place asks an extremely inflated price for what they deliver. We have no plans to stay here again and are certain that there are plenty of other places in the area that afford a better experience for the money.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank lepponestein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 13, 2005

We are on our way to the Harvest Inn for the fourth time (2nd time this year), and this time we're bringing guests. Obviously, we're hooked. The staff is, by far, the most courteous, attentive, warm group of people we've ever encountered during any hotel stay. The gardens, trees, and brickwork on the grounds take you to another world entirely. The brick fireplaces in the rooms are amazing.

When we were looking for a romantic getaway, we didn't want a pretentious luxury chain hotel at which you almost pay for an additional night by the time you're done tipping for valet (on top of nightly parking fees), doorman, bellboy, room service, etc. We feel that, although it's a splurge for us, the rates at the Harvest Inn are highly competitive within the Napa Valley. The concierge is top notch and well educated in all things wine country. The rooms are romantic and inviting. The grounds are entirely charming. And, of course, IF you decide to leave the property during your stay, I understand there are a lot of vineyards around!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2005

Great vacation getaway to the wine country. Outstanding Horticulture and land scaping. Nice spacious guestroom cottages. Generous continental breakfast and best of all - the swimming pools are open 24 hours!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gruntled_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 5, 2005

Before I comment, I must say the staff was amazing at the Harvest Inn, but besides that beware before you choose this establishment if you are looking for a romantic, quiet getaway.

Story time of our stay: Not only was there a wedding party, and I mean party, upstairs from our room, there was a gentleman taking photos of the vineyard (and god knows what else) outside of our privée porch. Finally I had to ask him, "will you be done taking photographs anytime soon?" As though that wasn't made obvious by our long stares. All romanticism went out the door on this trip. And it broke my heart. We had previously made this our "anniversary trip," but now we are going to rethink ever coming here again. Hopefully this was only a fluke, but be warned and if you are getting one of the premium rooms... check for wedding schedules and women with high heels on upstair rooms. Not a good combo if you are wondering at 2am. And don't think after the staff notified our "buddies upstairs" of our displeasure with their behavior that they didn't try to confront us. Uggh. Give us our money back and let's get out of here. They didn't have any other available rooms so we were stuck as we had plans the following morning. And thank goodness that was an amazing day to save our trip experience!

Decor, rooms, ammenities: "The Poet": nice room. View to vineyard (minus the photographer). Spa off porch. Gardens are gorgeous; as are the koi ponds. Masseuse is a wonderful man. Breakfast is great and in a beautiful room (watch out if you are over 6 ft... low lying lamps). CHANGE out the shower heads for the love of god! WE our paying a hefty price to stay here and it is definitely not to have a 10 dollar shower head! C'mon people change out the dead light bulbs. Unworkable fan in the living area.

Final comment: I expected professionalism, relatively quiet rooms and a great staff. I got one of them … and it was the staff. Once the situation was brought to them they acted fast and did what they could to notify the "wedding co-ordinator." We don't typically bust our pocket books for lodging too often... and this one was definitely a lack-luster stay. Perhaps we should stick to our October "mid-week visits," because the difference in the crowds: "june party go-ers" VS. "the october quiet nights mid-week".. are night and day. Please take note. But whatever our future Napa/St. Helena trip involves, it will not be at this hotel. So much for that baby in nine months, thanks Harvest Inn guests.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
678 reviews
16.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,950 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing