We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend to those seeking quiet and privacy, beautifully romantic grounds, large clean rooms and a good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
St Louis MO
1 review
“Recommend to those seeking quiet and privacy, beautifully romantic grounds, large clean rooms and a good value.”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

This was our first trip to Napa Valley. I had checked into staying at other hotels that would have cost much more (Meadowood, Auberge, and Calistoga Ranch), but chose to save money and stay here. This was a wise decision since going to wineries, fabulous restaurants, hot air ballooning, and sightseeing kept us away from the hotel for most of the days. We did make time in the late afternoons to relax by the quiet pool and enjoy the wonderfully landscaped grounds. Personally, I liked that the resort is small, private, quiet, and shaded. We weren't looking for a spa or golf course, arriving after spending 5 days at Pebble Beach, so if you are seeking more on-site activities then this may not be the hotel for you. Location-wise, it is perfect -- on the southern edge of St. Helena. We had a pleasant complimentary breakfast (hot food though is limited to quiche and oatmeal). There are so many fabulous restaurants and markets close by that we didn't mind not having on-site lunch or dinner. One day, rental bikes were delivered to the hotel and we leisurely biked to nearby wineries -- very fun. We loved our first hot air balloon ride. Book through the concierge for lower price and front door pick-up. Eat at Mustard's for lunch. Take a tour to learn the fascinating history of the nearby Rubicon Estate. Our dining experience on the terrace of Auberge du Soleil was near perfection. Overall, the hotel was a very good experience offering a quiet and relaxing experience, large clean rooms, lush gardens, and a great central location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReillyStLouisMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    231
    97
    62
    34
See reviews for
97
703
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prosper, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Our party of six stayed at the Harvest Inn July 26-29 for a special anniversary occasion. We had booked the Vineyard View rooms on the Travelzoo promotion several months ago. We stayed in the rooms with the fireplace, but no hot tub. Very large room with sitting area, desk and king bed. The bathroom was updated and had an awesome shower. We especially loved having our own patio overlooking the vineyards. The grounds are magnificent...even Redwood trees, and although the property sits off the main road, our rooms were very secluded and private. Check in was easy, the staff and concierge, Hugh were most helpful. Breakfast is very bountiful with yummy breads, pastries, quiche, oatmeal, cereals, yogurt, granola, boiled eggs and cheeses. Four of the six of us traveling had never been to Napa before and this was a great experience for us. Thank you Harvest Inn staff for making our trip a memorable occasion!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This lovely hotel is spread out on several houses located in a lovely garden. All the houses are build in an old romantic style and just walking around the premises among the trees and meadows is a really romanic experience. The small pool and whirlpool was also very nice.

Our room was excellent. It had lots of space, a very comfortable bed, wireless free internet, a great bathroom with two sinks and a "make-up-room". We had a half-bottle of wine in our room and complimentary sodas and water in the fridge.

The service was excellent! From the friendly arrival, through the very pleasant glass of wine in the bar to the convenient check-out everything was impeccable!

St Helena was a very cute little town where the wineyards and wine tastings are all around. We really recommend having dinner at Cindy's Backstreet kitchen while you're there! It was the best restaurant in our six week's trip through the US!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fincozmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We were so excited to stay at the Harvest Inn. After reading all the great review we couldn not wait! However, our first sign of trouble came when we made our reservation. The girl we spoke with took all our information and said we had a room with a fireplace. After we got off the phone we went online to look at exactly the room...no fireplace. So, within 10 minutes we called back. She then told us NO there is not a fireplace she was sorry for the confusion if we want a fireplace we can pay $30 more. Now we feel mislead. My husband says you know what, we just want ot cancel because I asked you several times about this room and what you told me and what I see online are very different. She says ok but it will be $30 to cancel. After much back and forth we ask to speak to the manager...the NEXT DAY he calls. He is standing by his employee. We can either stay or now we can pay a full nights fee because it's under the "required cancellation time". He then goes on to assure us it will be a beautiful room blah, blah. So, we decide we are stuck but, think how bad can it be?? So we hit CA and the first night of our trip we stayed at the Vintage Inn (Wonderful Place STAY THERE). Then it was on to the Harvest. When we arrived we were made to wait quite a long time for check in...not a big deal but kind of a bummer. Then we are told where to find our room. I ask the check in girl, can we upgrade at this time? She says NO we are sold out. Ok. No problem. The room was a RAT HOLE! It was the darkest, smallest room I had ever seen. The bathroom was even worse. It was dated and tiny...looked like it was from the laste 70's. Plus everywhere we looked on the grounds there were dirty dishes stacked up! We were now a little mad. So back up to the front we go. Now check in girl has "found" 5 other rooms to show us but, they will all be $30 more. These are just as bad except bigger and with the fireplace we had heard so much about. After seeing these we are still not happy. Now the GM comes down. He magically "finds" a room in the New part of the hotel. At this point I just want to leave but, now we will be paying for BOTH nights we had booked if we walk out. He was not budging. It didn't matter how much we hated the place. New room was a step above super 8 in my opinion. The shower was bad, the fireplace was more like a candel and we had no turn down service the first night. The free breakfast was nothing more than day old bread and watery oatmeal. So gross. It was the worst hotel experience I have had. Not only was the property NOT at all like it seems online we were held hostage. What about customer service? We will never recommend this dump.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackburkam, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, August 7, 2009
Our staff and myself tried many times to satisfy these guests. They reserved our only room type without a fireplace, a Deluxe King, and received a written confirmation of this room type long before arrival. These rooms are cozy and charming, but are our least expensive room type.

Upon arrival at their room they stated that their room was too small, and that they wanted a free upgrade. When we politely explained that the hotel was nearly full and that we would not be able to upgrade for free as a result, they then insisted that they had reserved a larger fireplace room from the beginning, even though they had the written confirmation far in advance that specifies a room without a fireplace.

They then insisted they be upgraded for free because our web site photos showed that their room type had a fireplace in it. We reviewed the web site on the spot - the photos of their room type do not show a fireplace.

We tried to accommodate them and offered them a number of different room choices - some at the same rate they were paying, and some at a $30 increase for the fireplace upgrade. They refused all of the similarly priced rooms and again asked to upgrade for free - but this time to our most expensive room type with a fireplace, outdoor patio, and vineyard and mountain views. They then offered to pay $30 for an upgrade to this room type.

These are our most expensive rooms and were fully reserved, and we refused to bump a guest who had paid for this room type to accommodate a guest who was being completely unreasonable.

We showed these guests several other rooms, and they finally selected one of our newest rooms, including a fireplace, soaking tub, slate shower, and small porch for the $30 upgrade charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My new wife and I stayed at the Harvest Inn on recommendation of a coworker and it was just as they described. It is very quaint and quiet, and a great spot for part of our honeymoon. We had a vineyard view room on the second floor right above the breakfast room. This is the older part of the property. The only semi-complaint I can have about the place is some of the decor in our room could have used some updating. It didn't necessarlily seem old in the sense of worn, just a style I am not usually used to seeing in places I stay. It was still quite nice and having a fireplace in the room made it more romantic as well.

We got the TravelZoo spring package (despite the season now being summer) which included a great rate, free wifi, complementary bottle of wine, free tastings (which we didn't take advantage of because of a lack of time and already had other places planned). The complementary breakfast is superb, and grounds are beautiful as already mentioned by many others. We did use the pool and hottub, they were both very nice and quiet when we were there in the late afternoon/early evening. Finally, the location is great as it is near so many great wineries and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcoldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Everyone we encountered from the desk clerk to the groundskeeper were remarkably friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautifully maintained and tranquil. Very convenient location. Would recommend vineyard-view suites at the back of the property--rooms are large and comfortable and provide great views of the surrounding vineyards and nearby mountains. The added amenities (free wine tastings, internet access, upscale toiletries, separate walk-in shower, high-def TV, mini fridge with free bottled water/soft drinks, in-room bottle of wine from local winery, large breakfasts, etc.) at no additional cost were a nice surprise. You get your money's worth here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proudtobeanamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This was mine and my husband's first trip to wine country and staying at Harvest Inn was amazing. From the check-in (which I must say was the fastest check-in ever), to the wide open, spacious Fountain Room we stayed in with a huge fireplace and patio, we couldn't have asked for more!!! The remodeled bathrooms were very large and the shower was great. Other reviewers have mentioned the grounds and they are beautiful - nice winding paths between each set of rooms. The hot tub and pool are open 24 hours, so head out there in the evening - very peaceful, just no glasses out there, get some plastic cups from the bar! The breakfast was very good and the flavored water I must admit was awesome! Each night we came home to bottles of water on each nightstand. When they did the turndown service, they left classical music playing which was a very pleasant surprise!!!!
Sophie, the very nice girl from Boston that I chatted it up with at the bar was very pleasant and gave wonderful recommendations for wines to try on site. The Whitehall half bottles were great!!!! During our stay we dined at Go Fish (awesome, get the lobster roll!), Tra Vigne (went here twice, fantastic pizza/caesar salad and the 2nd time the spaghetti and meatballs were super tasty), Bottega (Michael Ciarello's restaurant - sat on patio the lamb chops were superb!!!!), Taylor's Refresher (great burgers) and then lastly the Wine Train. All in all it was a great location, right in the middle between Napa and Sonoma. Great wineries everywhere! I would highly recommend doing the Del Dotto cave tour - we did and it was a very enlightening experience. We look forward to going back! Thanks Harvest Inn for the most wonderful time!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank napa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
8.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
2,007 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
734 reviews
6.8 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing